LibGuides: Master of Science Human Genetics &amp; Genomics (MSHGG): MS HGG Home

Useful Links

Canvas This link will take you to your courses in Canvas
SCU Wiki This site contains over 1000 video clips of examination procedures, adjusting and soft tissue techniques, exercise rehabilitation and active care resources. The ultimate goal is for the wiki site to be an online resource for the students' to access anywhere.
List of All Databases

Contact Information

Please contact us with any questions or requests regarding accessing resources from the LRC.

Librarian: Joshua Shulman, MLIS

Phone: 562-368-3146

Email: scuhslibrary@scuhs.edu

MSHGG Resources

Ethical Dilemmas in Genetics and Genetic Counseling by Janice Berliner (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection - Unlimited Sim Users
Knowledge of the genetic basis of human diseases is growing rapidly, with important implications for pre-conceptional, prenatal, and predictive testing. While new genetic testing offers better insight into the causes of and susceptibility for heritable diseases, not all inherited diseases thatcan be predicted on the basis of genetic information can be treated or cured.
A Guide to Genetic Counseling by Wendy R. Uhlmann (Editor); Jane L. Schuette (Editor); Beverly M. Yashar (Editor)
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central - Unlimited Users
ISBN: 9780470179659
Publication Date: 2009-08-11
Human Population Genetics 1st Ed. by John H. Relethford
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central - Unlimited Sim Users
Introductory guide to human population genetics and microevolutionary theory Providing an introduction to mathematical population genetics, Human Population Genetics gives basic background on the mechanisms of human microevolution. This text combines mathematics, biology, and anthropology and is best suited for advanced undergraduate and graduate study.
Medical Genetics by G. Bradley Schaefer; James N. Thompson
A complete introductory text on how to integrate basic genetic principles into the practice of clinical medicine. Medical Genetics is the first text to focus on the everyday application of genetic assessment and its diagnostic, therapeutic, and preventive implications in clinical practice.
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by Merck
Call Number: R2 Digital Library - Unlimited Sim Users
Back by popular demand: the world's most widely-used medical reference, now in its 20th edition. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy has been thoroughly updated and expanded with a larger trim size to include 40% new and revised content, including 36 new chapters with more than 200 tables and 100 figures.

DISCOVERY Search This link opens in a new window
Very broad, "google-like" search engine. LRC recommends as student's first research stop! Searches multiple reputable databases for journal articles, books, e-books, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is an index of journal articles related to allied health, nursing, biomedicine and healthcare. It includes research tools, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and broad support care focus.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
ClinicalTrials.gov has been developed by the U.S. National Institutes of Health through its National Library of Medicine, to provide current information about public and private clinical research studies.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR): This link opens in a new window
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews..
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in healthcare. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. -Publisher
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Clinical reference tool primarily intended for point-of-care (POC) use. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 conditions, pharmaceuticals, and related topics.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This authoritative database provides full text, cover-to-cover indexing for journals indexed in MEDLINE. These top journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Large database of scientific and medical research. The LRC licenses full-text journals through OVID. Such as Academic Medicine, Neurology, Spine, Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants and Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
"PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites." -Website
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database of scientific and medical research. It hosts over 12 million pieces of content from 3,500 academic journals and 34,000 e-books.

undefined

DynaMed

EBSCO Mobile

undefined

Complete Anatomy

undefined

Kahoot!

undefined

Canvas

undefined

Examplify

undefined

Draw it to Know it

Access Medicine

American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics
The ACMG is the only nationally recognized interdisciplinary professional membership organization that represents the interests of the entire medical genetics team including clinical geneticists, clinical laboratory geneticists, and genetic counselors. Together, the ACMG and its members engage in coordinated efforts to improve patient care, ensure optimal reimbursement for genetic service providers, establish standards of care and laboratory policy, and educate members about advances important to their practices
American Society of Human Genetics
The American Society of Human Genetics envisions a future where people everywhere realize the benefits of human genetics and genomics research. We work to advance human genetics and genomics in science, health, and society through excellence in research, education, and advocacy.
Genetics Society of America
The Genetics Society of America (GSA) is the professional membership organization for scientific researchers and educators in the field of genetics. Our members work to advance knowledge in the basic mechanisms of inheritance, from the molecular to the population level. We seek to cultivate an inclusive, diverse resarch community that engages with public, communicates the exciitement and implications of discovery, and serves as an authoritative source of information.