It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Master of Science Human Genetics & Genomics (MSHGG): MS HGG Home
CanvasThis link will take you to your courses in Canvas
SCU WikiThis site contains over 1000 video clips of examination procedures, adjusting and soft tissue techniques, exercise rehabilitation and active care resources.
The ultimate goal is for the wiki site to be an online resource for the students' to access anywhere.
Genetics and genomics both play roles in health and disease. Genetics refers to the study of genes and the way that certain traits or conditions are passed down from one generation to another. Genomics describes the study of the entirety of an individual's genes (the genome).
Genetics is a term that refers to the study of genes and their roles in inheritance - in other words, the way that certain traits or conditions are passed down from one generation to another. Genetics involves scientific studies of genes and their effects. Genomics is a more recent term that describes the study of all a person's genes (the genome), including interactions of those genes with each other and with the person's environment.
Human Population Genetics 1st Ed. by John H. RelethfordIntroductory guide to human population genetics and microevolutionary theory Providing an introduction to mathematical population genetics, Human Population Genetics gives basic background on the mechanisms of human microevolution. This text combines mathematics, biology, and anthropology and is best suited for advanced undergraduate and graduate study. Thorough and accessible, Human Population Genetics presents concepts and methods of population genetics specific to human population study, utilizing uncomplicated mathematics like high school algebra and basic concepts of probability to explain theories central to the field. By describing changes in the frequency of genetic variants from one generation to the next, this book hones in on the mathematical basis of evolutionary theory. Human Population Genetics includes: Helpful formulae for learning ease Graphs and analogies that make basic points and relate the evolutionary process to mathematical ideas Glossary terms marked in boldface within the book the first time they appear In-text citations that act as reference points for further research Exemplary case studies Topics such as Hardy-Weinberg equilibrium, inbreeding, mutation, genetic drift, natural selection, and gene flow Human Population Genetics solidifies knowledge learned in introductory biological anthropology or biology courses and makes it applicable to genetic study. NOTE: errata for the first edition can be found at the author's website: http://employees.oneonta.edu/relethjh/HPG/errata.pdf
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central - Unlimited Sim Users
Call Number: R2 Digital Library - Unlimited Sim Users
Fundamentals of Biostatistics 8th Ed. by Bernard RosnerFUNDAMENTALS OF BIOSTATISTICS leads you through the methods, techniques, and computations of statistics necessary for success in the medical field. Every new concept is developed systematically through completely worked out examples from current medical research problems.
ClinicalTrials.gov has been developed by the U.S. National Institutes of Health through its National Library of Medicine, to provide current information about public and private clinical research studies.
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews..
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in healthcare. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. -Publisher
This authoritative database provides full text, cover-to-cover indexing for journals indexed in MEDLINE. These top journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Large database of scientific and medical research. LRC licenses multiple full-text journals through OVID. Under the "Journals" tab find full text for the journals Academic Medicine (1989 to 2011), Neurology (1951 to date), Spine (1976 to date), Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants (2005 to date) and Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research (2004 to date).
"PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites." -Website
The ACMG is the only nationally recognized interdisciplinary professional membership organization that represents the interests of the entire medical genetics team including clinical geneticists, clinical laboratory geneticists, and genetic counselors. Together, the ACMG and its members engage in coordinated efforts to improve patient care, ensure optimal reimbursement for genetic service providers, establish standards of care and laboratory policy, and educate members about advances important to their practices
The American Society of Human Genetics envisions a future where people everywhere realize the benefits of human genetics and genomics research. We work to advance human genetics and genomics in science, health, and society through excellence in research, education, and advocacy.
The Genetics Society of America (GSA) is the professional membership organization for scientific researchers and educators in the field of genetics. Our members work to advance knowledge in the basic mechanisms of inheritance, from the molecular to the population level. We seek to cultivate an inclusive, diverse resarch community that engages with public, communicates the exciitement and implications of discovery, and serves as an authoritative source of information.