Please contact us with any questions or requests regarding accessing resources from the LRC.
Librarian: Joshua Shulman, MLIS
Phone: 562-368-3146
Email: scuhslibrary@scuhs.edu
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Clinically Oriented Anatomy 8th by
Renowned for comprehensive coverage, the best-selling Clinically Oriented Anatomy guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. The eighth edition reflects significant new information and updates and maintains the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. Comprehensive updates reflect changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as new imaging technologies, focusing on the anatomy that students need to know. Extensively revised “Clinical Blue Boxes” explore the practical applications of anatomy, and helpful icons distinguish the type of clinical information covered in each. Clinically relevant anatomy focuses on physical diagnosis, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, with updates throughout, make this book an aesthetically rewarding learning resource. Combined with many photographs and medical images, these stunning visuals facilitate comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of “mental images” of anatomical structures. New and updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Expanded “Overview and Basic Concepts” chapter includes functional systemic anatomy summaries and introduces approaches to studying anatomy, terminology, imaging, and more. Inclusion of new sections describing the enteric nervous system (considered by some as a “second brain”) and its unique role in the innervation of the digestive system gives students cutting-edge insight into this significant scientific discovery. A more realistic approach to the musculoskeletal system explores the action and use of muscles and muscle groups in daily activities, emphasizing gait and grip. “Bottom Line” boxes summarize information to facilitate ongoing review and underscore the big-picture viewpoint.
Essential Neuroscience 4th by
Essential Neuroscience integrates must-have neuroscience information with clinical and physiological considerations to help readers master the fundamentals of neuroscience and prepare for board and course exams. Acclaimed for its concise, clinically relevant coverage, this student-friendly book uses a stepwise approach that starts with the basic building blocks of neural anatomy and expands to cover structures and functions, the interaction of systems, and the science of clinical disorders. A well-balanced mix of anatomy, physiology, biology, and biochemistry helps students increase their conceptual understanding of the subject matter and prepare for practice. Vividly illustrated and rich with clinical case studies, summary tables, a glossary of key terms, and comprehensive USMLE-style review questions, this accessible resource fosters the understanding essential to students' success on their exams and in clinical practice. Updated coverage familiarizes you with the latest clinical practices and approaches. Full-color illustrations clarify anatomic structures and complex processes. CT images and MRIs demonstrate radiologic anatomy and present conditions in a clinically relevant context. Clinical Cases enhance your clinical application capabilities and help you confidently manage commonly encountered conditions. Chapter Outlines and Summary Tables emphasize essential content and maximize your study time. Glossary defines bolded key terms at a glance. USMLE-style Review Questions with detailed explanations challenge your understanding and prepare you to excel on course and board exams. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology 13th by
The 13th edition of Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology continues this bestselling title's long tradition as the world's foremost medical physiology textbook. Unlike other textbooks on this topic, this clear and comprehensive guide has a consistent, single-author voice and focuses on the content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students. The detailed but lucid text is complemented by didactic illustrations that summarize key concepts in physiology and pathophysiology. Larger font size emphasizes core information around how the body must maintain homeostasis in order to remain healthy, while supporting information and examples are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue. Summary figures and tables help quickly convey key processes covered in the text. Bold full-color drawings and diagrams. Short, easy-to-read, masterfully edited chapters and a user-friendly full-color design. Brand-new quick-reference chart of normal lab values on the inside back cover. Increased number of figures, clinical correlations, and cellular and molecular mechanisms important for clinical medicine. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes the complete text, interactive figures, references, plus 50 self-assessment questions and more than a dozen animations.
Histology - A Text and Atlas: With Correlated Cell and Molecular Biology 8th by
Combining a reader-friendly textbook and a rich, full-color atlas, this bestselling resource equips medical, dental, health professions, and undergraduate biology and cell biology students with a comprehensive grasp of the clinical and functional correlates of histology and a vivid understanding of the structural and functional details of cells, tissues, and organs. Updated content throughout the text reflects the latest advances in cellular and molecular biology, accompanied by large, high-resolution illustrations and full-color photomicrographs that clarify microanatomy in vibrant detail. Ideal for integrated curriculums as well as standalone histology courses, this proven approach is accompanied by popular pedagogical features that distill complex information and help students save time. "Two-in-one" approach supplements clearly written chapters with dynamic atlas plates to enhance understanding at the point of learning. Updated content equips students with the most current, clinically relevant understanding of cellular and molecular biology. 435 high-resolution, full-color digital photomicrographs across more than 100 atlas plates clarify key structures. Updated full-color illustrations and clinical images refine students' understanding of microanatomy and cell and molecular biology in rich detail. Updated Histology "101" Notebook reviews summarize chapter content in a concise, notebook-style format preferred by students. Color-coded text highlights key terms and clinical information for fast, efficient reference. Boxed Clinical Correlation Folders familiarize students with conditions they may encounter on rotations during clerkship. Tables and bulleted text give quick access to staining techniques and other essential chapter details. Online USMLE-style multiple-choice review questions and clinical vignettes help students assess their understanding and prepare for board exams. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Langman's Medical Embryology 14th by
Vibrantly illustrated with full-color diagrams and clinical images, Langman's Medical Embryology , 14th Edition helps medical, nursing, and health professions students confidently develop a basic understanding of embryology and its clinical relevance. Concise chapter summaries, captivating clinical correlates boxes, clinical problems, and a clear, concise writing style make the subject matter accessible and engaging to students throughout their courses. Updated content reflects the latest clinical findings on the effects of the Zika virus, urogenital system disorders, and more. Clinical Correlates boxes tie clinically relevant content to case-based scenarios students may encounter in practice. More than 400 full-color illustrations, micrographs, and clinical images clarify key aspects of embryonic development. Problems to Solve with accompanying answers help assess student understanding. Chapter summaries and an expanded glossary reinforce understanding of key development stages, terms, and clinical conditions. Illustrated Development Chart provides visually guides students through the stages of embryonic development at a glance. Updated online review questions with answers help students test their understanding and identify areas of weakness. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Physiology 2nd by
Enhanced by a new chapter, new illustrations, and new Q&As, Lippincott ® Illustrated Reviews: Physiology, Second Edition brings physiology clearly into focus, telling the story of who we are; how we live; and, ultimately, how we die. By first identifying organ function and then showing how cells and tissues are designed to fulfill that function, this resource decodes physiology like no other text or review book. Tailored for ease of use and fast content absorption, the book's outline format, visionary artwork, clinical applications, and unit review questions help students master the most essential concepts in physiology, making it perfect for classroom learning and test and boards preparation. A new chapter on erythropoiesis and blood gas transport provides critical information on this key topic. New content on the impact of normal aging on organ function brings the book thoroughly up to date. Review questions with explanations for each system help prepare students for course and board examinations. More than 600 annotated, full-color illustrations--including more than 20 new to this edition--guide readers step by step through complex processes. Overviews and Chapter Summaries set clear goals for topic mastery and reemphasize essential concepts in a coherent framework. Clinical Applications boxes and clinical images encourage readers to apply their knowledge, taking them from the classroom to the bedside. Margin Example Equation boxes and in-text boxes highlight memorable information and keep physiology in a real-world context. Five online animations explain complex concepts in a memorable way. A consistent outline format makes critical information easy to access and assimilate. Cross references and Infolinks to topics are keyed to page headers to expedite location and are also provided for topics in other books in the Lippincott ® Illustrated Reviews series to help students develop an interdisciplinary grasp of key concepts. Unit-review questions in board-review style test understanding of fundamental concepts as well as the students' ability to draw connections among multiple organ systems. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Neuroanatomy in Clinical Context: Structures, Sections, Systems, and Syndromes 10th by
Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context is unique in integrating clinical information, correlations, and terminology with neuroanatomical concepts. It provides everything students need to not only master the anatomy of the central nervous system, but also understand its clinical relevance - ensuring preparedness for exams and clinical rotations. This authoritative approach, combined with salutary features such as full-color stained sections, extensive cranial nerve cross-referencing, and systems neurobiology coverage, sustains the legacy of this legendary teaching and learning tool. Emphasizes neuroscience information, concepts, and images that collectively constitute a comprehensive, clinically oriented overview of systems neurobiology Offers clear explanations, hundreds of review questions, and supplemental online resources that provide a sound anatomical basis for integrating neurobiological and clinical information Features an abundance of updated and expanded clinical content throughout all chapters to reflect the latest neuroscience knowledge Expands Clinical Syndromes of the Central Nervous System chapter to include a new section featuring Stroke Syndromes Introduces numerous new MRI, CT, MRA, and MRV images, as well as updated full-color photographs and artwork, to bring the content to life like never before Uses contemporary clinical and basic science terminology in its proper context Integrates detailed and richly illustrated coverage of neuroanatomy with neuroscience and clinical concepts, allowing students to understand the material's clinical context and relevance Offers a wealth of neuroimaging examples, clinical photographs, and full-color artwork that vividly demonstrate how neuroanatomy presents in clinical practice Features the masterful teaching of Duane E. Haines, PhD, FAAAS, FAAA, a widely respected and accomplished educator who has helped generations of students master neuroanatomy and neuroscience eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Atlas of Histology with Functional and Clinical Correlations 1st by
A comprehensive histology atlas with EXTRAS! The unique Atlas of Histology with Functional and Clinical Correlations covers fundamental histology topics, integrates this essential information with clinical considerations, and provides multiple opportunities for student review. Explanatory text in each chapter is combined with expanded figure legends in an innovative, integrated layout. The "extras" include: Key Concepts sections providing comprehensive introductions to and summaries of the chapter in an easy-to-read format. Over 100 Clinical Correlations that conclude the examination of most normal tissues and structures with a discussion and visual example of relevant pathology. Numerous Clinical Content boxes highlighted in blue among the running text, sharpening the clinical focus. Synopsis boxes of the key structural and functional characteristics of cells, tissues, and organs, offering more than 50 opportunities for efficient review. Full labels directly on the more than 1,300 illustrations and micrographs allowing students to quickly identify structures. Expanded figure legends reviewing key concepts as applied directly to histology images. Chapter Summary tables summarizing each chapter or section in a high-yield format. An Illustrated Glossary of Histological and Pathological Terms introduces the book and the key terms used throughout. An Appendix explaining the general concept of tissue preparation and staining -- key knowledge for the histology student.
The Immune System 4th by
This text emphasizes the human immune system and presents concepts with a balanced level of detail to describe how the immune system works. Written for undergraduate, medical, veterinary, dental, and pharmacy students, it makes generous use of medical examples to illustrate points. This classroom-proven textbook offers clear writing, full-color illustrations, and section and chapter summaries that make the content accessible and easily understandable to students.
Janeway's Immunobiology 9th by
Explore the premier text for immunology at the advanced undergraduate, graduate, and medical school levels. Beginning students appreciate the book's clear writing and informative illustrations, while advanced students and working immunologists value its comprehensive scope and depth. This edition is thoroughly revised and up to date with significant developments in the field, especially on the topic of innate immunity.
Medical Microbiology 9th by
The foremost text in this complex and fast-changing field, Medical Microbiology, 9th Edition, provides concise, up-to-date, and understandable explanations of key concepts in medical microbiology, immunology, and the microbes that cause human disease. Clear, engaging coverage of basic principles, immunology, laboratory diagnosis, bacteriology, virology, mycology, and parasitology help you master the essentials of microbiology?effectively preparing you for your coursework, exams, and beyond. Features significant new information on the human microbiome and its influence on the immune and other body systems, and new developments in microbial diagnosis, treatment, diseases, and pathogens. Updates every chapter with state-of-the-art information and current literature citations. Summarizes detailed information in tabular format rather than in lengthy text. Provides review questions at the end of each chapter that correlate basic science with clinical practice. Features clinical cases that illustrate the epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of infectious diseases. Introduces microbe chapters with summaries and trigger words for easy review. Highlights the text with clear, colorful figures, clinical photographs, and images that help you visualize the clinical presentation of infections. Offers additional study features online, including 200 self-assessment questions, microscopic images of the microbes, videos, and a new integrating chapter that provides hyperlinks between the microbes, the organ systems that they affect, and their diseases. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Physiology 6th by
Renowned physiology instructor Dr. Linda Costanzo's friendly, logical, easy-to-follow writing style makes Physiology, 6th Edition ideal for coursework and USMLE preparation. Well-designed figures and tables provide handy visuals for procedures or physiologic equations, and step-by-step explanations clarify challenging concepts. This full-color, manageably-sized text offers a comprehensive and consistent overview of core physiologic concepts at the organ system and cellular levels, making complex principles easy to understand. Information is presented in a short, simple, and focused manner - the perfect presentation for success in coursework and on exams. Chapter summaries and "Challenge Yourself" questions at the end of each chapter provide an extensive review of the material and reinforce understanding and retention. Equations and sample problems are integrated throughout the text. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book as well as new materials (outlined above) designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. NEW! More Clinical Physiology Case Boxes relate to pathophysiology for a clinical context. Student Consult access includes high-yield student FAQs with thorough explanations, animations, and NEW video tutorials from Dr. Costanzo.
Radiology 101: The Basics and Fundamentals of Imaging 4th by
Radiology 101 is a popular introduction to radiologic anatomy, the imaging manifestations of common disease processes, and what imaging studies to use when. The first section addresses basic principles of the various imaging modalities, while the second section deals with imaging of body regions plus, contains a chapter on nuclear imaging. Each chapter starts with a brief outline and ends with key points. Great depictions of normal anatomy and common pathology help guide those seeking a basic understanding of radiology especially interns and radiology residents, and non-radiology professionals desiring a concise overview of the field, such as nurse practitioners, physician assistants and primary-care physicians. Emphasis is placed on plain-film imaging with CT, MRI & Ultrasound included. Plus, there are numerous tables for typical symptoms, causes and differential diagnosis of common diseases and disorders. New for this edition: Book is 4-color for first time with new anatomic variants added to each chapter Inside cover lists common acronyms and treatment of acute contrast media reactions Discussion of biopsy of thyroid nodules (procedure commonly ordered by primary-care providers) Expanded nuclear imaging section to include basics of PET/CT New chapters on radiation protection/dose reduction and medical decision-making
Textbook of Biochemistry with Clinical Correlations 7th by
This book presents a clear and precise discussion of biochemistry of eukaryotic cells, particularly those of mammalian tissues, relates biochemical events at a cellular level to the subsequent physiological processes in the whole animal, and cites examples of abnormal biochemical processes in human disease. The organization and content are tied together to provide students with the complete picture of biochemistry and how it relates to human diseases.
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine 8th by
Updated to reflect the newest changes in genetics, Thompson & Thompson's Genetics in Medicine returns as one of the most favored texts in this fascinating and rapidly evolving field. By integrating the classic principles of human genetics with modern molecular genetics, this medical reference book utilizes a variety of learning tools to help you understand a wide range of genetic disorders. Acquire the state-of-the-art knowledge you need on the latest advances in molecular diagnostics, the Human Genome Project, pharmacogenetics, and bio-informatics. Better understand the relationship between basic genetics and clinical medicine with a variety of clinical case studies. Recognize a wide range of genetic disorders with visual guidance from more than 240 dynamic illustrations and high-quality photos. Immerse yourself in updated graphics, full-color text, illustrations, line diagrams, and clinical photos of genetic diseases. Explore the latest genetic content available in order to remain up to date on the most current trends in the field. Take advantage of a double-page clinical case study section that demonstrates and reinforces general principles of disease inheritance, pathogenesis, diagnosis, management, and counseling. Enhance your critical thinking skills and better retain information. Each chapter ends with up to 5 quick genetic "problems" related to what has just been reviewed, with answers provided in the back of the book. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also access USMLE-style and multiple choice questions.
|
DynaMed
|
EBSCO Mobile
|
Complete Anatomy
|
Kahoot!
|
|
Canvas
|
Examplify
|
Draw it to Know it
|
Access Medicine
|
