Please contact us with any questions or requests regarding accessing resources from the LRC.
Librarian: Joshua Shulman, MLIS
Phone: 562-368-3146
Email: scuhslibrary@scuhs.edu
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking 13th by
Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking 9th by
This updated ninth edition of the leading medical physical examination pocket guide available today provides concise, authoritative guidance on how to perform the patient interview, physical examination, and other core assessments. This trusted pocket-sized reference includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques, retaining the easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. Now featuring an enhanced design, new content, and new student-friendly learning aids, Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Ninth Edition, is the ideal quick-reference resource for today's medical, PA, pharmacy, and nursing students. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Algorithms provide helpful starting approaches for patients with common presenting symptoms. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Before We Are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects 9th by
As the study of embryology continues to be integrated with a range of disciplines, Before We Are Born remains the ideal solution for students who need to quickly learn the basics. Fully updated by the world's foremost embryologists, this medical reference book provides concise guidance on human embryology at every stage of development, utilizing rich illustrations and photographs designed to further explain content. Understand all of the latest advances in embryology, including normal and abnormal embryogenesis, causes of birth defects, and the role of genes in human development. See how discoveries in molecular biology have affected clinical practice, including the development of sophisticated new techniques such as recumbent DNA technology and stem cell manipulation. Prepare for the USMLE Step 1 with clinical case presentations, highlighted in special boxes, which demonstrate how embryology concepts relate to clinical practice. Quickly review just the embryology information you need to know, masterfully distilled from the popular book The Developing Human, written by the same author team. Understand the complex concepts inherent in embryology with help from streamlined content, didactic illustrations, and clinical photos. Test your knowledge with brand-new review questions at the end of each chapter. Searchable, portable, shareable, and perpetual, this Student Consult title offers enhanced features that allow you to interact with your content like never before.
Cellular and Molecular Immunology 9th by
The top required and recommended immunology text worldwide, Cellular and Molecular Immunology by Drs. Abul K. Abbas, Andrew H. H. Lichtman, and Shiv Pillai, is a clear, well-written, and superbly illustrated introduction to the field. The 9th Edition retains a practical, clinical focus while updating and revising all content to ensure clarity and comprehension, bringing readers fully up to date with new and emerging information in this challenging area. Highlights the implications of immunologic science for the management of human disease, emphasizing clinical relevance throughout. Provides a highly visual, full-color description of the key immunologic and molecular processes with a fully updated, comprehensive, and consistent art program. Helps readers grasp the details of experimental observations that form the basis for the science of immunology at the molecular, cellular, and whole-organism levels and draw the appropriate conclusions. Includes summary boxes that assist with rapid review and mastery of key material. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and animations, designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. Features updates from cover to cover, including tumor immunity (tumor antigens, cancer immunotherapy), immune checkpoints, cytosolic sensors for DNA, non-canonical inflammasomes, prionization as a signaling mechanism, monogenic defects in immunity, and more.
Chinese Medicine and Healing: An Illustrated History by
Chinese Medicine and Healing is a comprehensive introduction to a rich array of Chinese healing practices as they have developed through time and across cultures. Contributions from fifty-eight leading international scholars in such fields as Chinese archaeology, history, anthropology, religion, and medicine make this a collaborative work of uncommon intellectual synergy, and a vital new resource for anyone working in East Asian or world history, in medical history and anthropology, and in biomedicine and complementary healing arts. This illustrated history explores the emergence and development of a wide range of health interventions, including propitiation of disease-inflicting spirits, divination, vitality-cultivating meditative disciplines, herbal remedies, pulse diagnosis, and acupuncture. The authors investigate processes that contribute to historical change, such as competition between different types of practitioner?shamans, Daoist priests, Buddhist monks, scholar physicians, and even government officials. Accompanying vignettes and illustrations bring to life such diverse arenas of health care as childbirth in the Tang period, Yuan state-established medical schools, fertility control in the Qing, and the search for sexual potency in the People's Republic. The two final chapters illustrate Chinese healing modalities across the globe and address the challenges they have posed as alternatives to biomedical standards of training and licensure. The discussion includes such far-reaching examples as Chinese treatments for diphtheria in colonial Australia and malaria in Africa, the invention of ear acupuncture by the French and its worldwide dissemination, and the varying applications of acupuncture from Germany to Argentina and Iraq.
Clean Needle Technique Manual for Acupuncturists: Guidelines & Standards for the Clean & Safe Clinical Practice of Acupuncture by 
Clinical Handbook of Chinese Medicine by
Reference Book
Clinical Imaging: With Skeletal, Chest, & Abdominal Pattern Differentials 3rd by
Clinical Imaging by Dennis Marchiori is a comprehensive text with a clear, concise writing style that allows students and practitioners to quickly develop a better understanding of diagnostic imaging. Covering soft tissue imaging and skeletal imaging, including brain and spinal cord, chest, and abdomen, seamlessly integrates plain film with MRI and CT. And with more than 3,500 illustrations all contained in one volume, this trusted text offers the most effective, realistic and comprehensive approach available today. "For students who need to get up to speed with abnormal radiographic appearances this book is a good start." Reviewed by RAD Magazine, Jan 2015 Combines the innovative pattern approach with more traditional detailed descriptions to emulate real-world patient interaction without sacrificing more in-depth content on disease states. Innovative Pattern Approach uses the patterns that link similar abnormalities to help you learn to identify, and just as importantly, differentiate abnormalities. Extensive cross-referencing from pattern to disease descriptions enables the reader to quickly find more detailed information. Dedicated chapter on the key subject of radiology physics, including algorithms for improving film quality. A glossary of nearly 500 radiological terms. NEW! Over 800 new or updated images. NEW! State-of-the-art MRI images deliver more comprehensive content for this growing field within imaging. NEW! Updated photographs familiarize you with radiographic positioning equipment. NEW! Clearer, more detailed line art visually reinforces your understanding of new concepts. NEW! Additional contributors provide fresh perspectives on important topics and trends.
Clinically Oriented Anatomy 8th by
The world's most trusted clinically focused anatomy text! Renowned for comprehensive coverage, the best-selling Clinically Oriented Anatomy guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. The eighth edition reflects significant new information and updates and maintains the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. Comprehensive updates reflect changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as new imaging technologies, focusing on the anatomy that students need to know. Extensively revised "Clinical Blue Boxes" explore the practical applications of anatomy, and helpful icons distinguish the type of clinical information covered in each. Clinically relevant anatomy focuses on physical diagnosis, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, with updates throughout , make this book an aesthetically rewarding learning resource. Combined with many photographs and medical images, these stunning visuals facilitate comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. New and updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Expanded "Overview and Basic Concepts" chapter includes functional systemic anatomy summaries and introduces approaches to studying anatomy, terminology, imaging, and more. Inclusion of new sections describing the enteric nervous system (considered by some as a "second brain") and its unique role in the innervation of the digestive system gives students cutting-edge insight into this significant scientific discovery. A more realistic approach to the musculoskeletal system explores the action and use of muscles and muscle groups in daily activities, emphasizing gait and grip. "Bottom Line" boxes summarize information to facilitate ongoing review and underscore the big-picture viewpoint. Clinical Blue Box animations, case studies, and interactive multiple-choice questions online at thePoint.lww.com facilitate review and self-testing.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics, 3/e by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The highly rated geriatrics guide has been updated and streamlined, getting you up to speed on everything you need to know--quickly and efficiently One of the top-selling geriatrics guides in medicine, Current Diagnosis & Treatment:Geriatrics now covers the unique challenges clinicians are facing today,such as policies concerning special populations, care in collaboration with teams, and working within healthcare systems. Presented by a top-ranked group of internationally renowned experts, this concise and authoritative guide delivers everything you need to know about assessment, care, conditions, diseases, and symptoms of geriatric patients; provides a new focus on policy, society, and the global environment;and includes new chapters on assisted-living settings, HIV and aging, and aid in dying.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2021 by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to anyCURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment--the flagship volume of the renowned Lange medical series--has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Covering the latest clinical developments in all facets of medicine and fully focused on bedside clinical issues, this new edition provides completely the latest guidelines, reference, drug prices, approved drugs, and evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders--all formatted to enable you to find the answers you need quickly and effortlessly. This landmark guide covers inpatient and outpatient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to daily practice, and reviews all primary care topics, including gynecology/obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, geriatrics, preventive medicine, psychiatry, and neurology. Now includes a "year in review" feature highlighting what's new in CMDT! Includes essentials of diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables with indexed trade names Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present important information in an at-a-glance style Up-to-date references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information Seven bonus chapters available online to all book purchasers, featuring expanded content and annual review of advances in HIV treatment and critical information on emerging viral infections
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 by
The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully revised and updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2022! For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment―the flagship volume of the renowned Lange medical series―has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 focuses completely on solving practical bedside clinical issues without spending too much time on pathophysiology. It includes full review of all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. You'll find everything you need to know about inpatient and outpatient care, along the with the most relevant diagnostic tools for day-to-day practice. Features: 320 images Hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices Includes an annual review of advances in HIV treatment Includes Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Diagnostic/treatment algorithms present critical information in an at-a-glance format Up-to-date references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information "Electronic only" chapters available to all book customers, not just to CMDT online subscribers Expanded chapter content available online and in ebook for all chapter content
Diagnosis in Chinese Medicine: A Comprehensive Guide 1st by
This major, new book is a complete, easily accessed and highly illustrated guide to diagnosis in Chinese Medicine. Emphasis is placed on "real world" issues and symptoms, and the text focuses on clear interpretations of signs and symptoms - the practice beyond the theory. Since Chinese medicine diagnosis relies on a subjective appraisal of the patient's symptoms and signs - which form a pattern - many factors beyond traditional Western symptoms are taken into consideration e.g. a patient's voice, the absence of thirst, feeling hot or cold, the patient's smell, tone of voice, glitter of eyes. Thus, Chinese diagnosis is based on a subtle appraisal of a patient's disharmony, which may not be a "disease" at all, and as such requires careful interpretation of a range of nuances. This book will help lead students and practitioners through basic on to sophisticated levels of diagnostic interpretation Provides a clinical understanding of Traditional Chinese Medicine Offers an unparalleled depth of information that is meticulously cross-referenced Includes all the signs and symptoms, however subtle, that a modern patient may present in the clinic Provides clinical experience and understanding from a leader in the field of Chinese medicine Clearly outlines the decision-making options in key situations to help readers through the most challenging topics Logically organized so readers can quickly find the information they need in clinical situations
Differential Diagnosis and Management for the Chiropractor 5th by
The Fifth Edition of this best-selling reference is a compendium of evidence-based approaches to the most common presenting complaints. Covering both musculoskeletal and visceral complaints, this text is intended to direct the chiropractor toward an appropriate plan of approach in both diagnostic evaluation and care. Highlighting these approaches are flowcharts (algorithms), relevant historical questioning, and summaries of common conditions related to the presenting complaint.
The Foundations of Chinese Medicine: A Comprehensive Text 3rd by
The latest edition of this hugely popular volume continues to provide readers in the West with a clear explanation of the theory and practice of Chinese medicine. Richly illustrated and fully updated throughout, Foundations of Chinese Medicine retains its careful structure to present the subject in a systemized manner which ranges from first principles to the diagnosis and management of a wide range of disease states. NOW WITH AN ACCOMPANYING WEBSITE containing an extensive bank of review and test material, the latest edition of this important volume has been redesigned to provide a more accessible, up-to-date feel to the content to enhance the reader's learning experience. Offering a unique combination of rigorous scholarship together with a wealth of clinical experience, Maciocia's Foundations of Chinese Medicine will be ideal for all students of Chinese medicine, acupuncture and Chinese herbal medicine as well as qualified practitioners needing to stay up-to-date with changes in the field. "For the student or practitioner of Chinese medicine this is a definitive text book." Reviewed by Jim Young on behalf of glycosmedia.com, Aug 2015 25th Anniversary edition of the Western world's best-selling book on Chinese medicine! Logical, sequential organization builds from basic theoretical concepts, through functions of individual organs, diagnosis, pathology, pattern recognition & disease categories, and the appropriate use of acupuncture points Clearly explains the theory and practice of Chinese Medicine to Western medical audiences Based on a unique and invaluable combination of extensive clinical experience in the West, current Chinese Medicine textbooks and ancient sources, in particular, the 'Yellow Emperor's Classic of Internal Medicine' (Nei Jing) and the 'Classic of Difficulties' (Nan Jing) Includes Pinyin equivalents to make it immediately evident which original term is being translated Abundantly illustrated with over 750 line drawings and more than 1000 tables & boxes designed to emphasize the key facts End of chapter Learning Outcomes point out 'must-know' information Cases Studies and Case Histories apply theory to diagnosis and treatment, bringing the subject to life in a realistic context An extensive Glossary explains new terms and their origins from translation Additional Appendices list Prescriptions, Bibliography and Chinese Chronology Authored by Giovanni Maciocia, one of the Western world's leading subject matter experts An accompanying EVOLVE website provides over 650 self-testing questions and answers to help readers check their understanding of frequently complex information New Case Histories help 'bring the subject to life' Expanded subject area coverage including new clinical guidelines and additional acupuncture point combinations Contains further analysis of acupuncture point actions Innovative guidelines aid students learning Chinese Medicine patterns
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry 31st by
Gain a full understanding of the principles of biochemistry as it relates to clinical medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2020! The Thirty-First Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry continues to emphasize the link between biochemistry and the understanding of disease states, disease pathology, and the practice of medicine. Featuring a full-color presentation and numerous medically relevant examples, Harper's presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals of biochemistry that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school. All 58 chapters help you understand the medical relevance of biochemistry: * Full-color presentation includes more than 600 illustrations * Case studies emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemistry * NEW CHAPTER on Biochemistry of Transition Metals addresses the importance and overall pervasiveness of transition metals * Review Questions follow each of the eleven sections * Boxed Objectives define the goals of each chapter * Tables encapsulate important information * Every chapter includes a section on the biomedical importance of a given topic NEW TO THIS EDITION: * Emphasis throughout on the integral relationship between biochemistry and disease, diagnostic pathology, and medical practice * Hundreds of references to disease states throughout * New chapter addressing the biochemical roles of transition metals * Many updated review questions * Frequent tables summarizing key links to disease states * New text on cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM) * Cover picture of the protein structure of the Zika virus, solved by cryo-EM Applauded by medical students and online reviewers for its currency and engaging style, Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry is essential for USMLE® review and the single-best reference for learning the clinical relevance of any biochemistry topic.
Huangdi Neijing: a synopsis with commentaries by
Huangdi Neijing is a classic medical text of ancient China. Composed of two sections, Suwen and Lingshu, the book is filled with enduring wisdom and insight and is still consulted by doctors today. This translation is based largely on Li Zhongzi's concise 1642 edition, titled Neijing Zhiyao, and continues the centuries-long effort to annotate the text, especially in light of modern developments in medicine. Instead of "explaining a classic with a classic," this edition adds commentaries and emendations that enhance the theoretical core of Huangdi Neijing, illuminating a seminal work of Chinese medicine that covers much more than the basic principles of yin-yang and the five elements.
Huang Di nei jing su wen : nature, knowledge, imagery in an ancient Chinese medical text, with an appendix, The doctrine of the five periods and six qi in the Huang Di nei jing su wen by
The Huang Di nei jing su wen, known familiarly as the Su wen, is a seminal text of ancient Chinese medicine, yet until now there has been no comprehensive, detailed analysis of its development and contents. At last Paul U. Unschuld offers entry into this still-vital artifact of China’s cultural and intellectual past. Unschuld traces the history of the Su wen to its origins in the final centuries B.C.E., when numerous authors wrote short medical essays to explain the foundations of human health and illness on the basis of the newly developed vessel theory. He examines the meaning of the title and the way the work has been received throughout Chinese medical history, both before and after the eleventh century when the text as it is known today emerged. Unschuld’s survey of the contents includes illuminating discussions of the yin-yang and five-agents doctrines, the perception of the human body and its organs, qi and blood, pathogenic agents, concepts of disease and diagnosis, and a variety of therapies, including the new technique of acupuncture. An extensive appendix, furthermore, offers a detailed introduction to the complicated climatological theories of Wu yun liu qi ("five periods and six qi"), which were added to the Su wen by Wang Bing in the Tang era. In an epilogue, Unschuld writes about the break with tradition and innovative style of thought represented by the Su wen. For the first time, health care took the form of "medicine," in that it focused on environmental conditions, climatic agents, and behavior as causal in the emergence of disease and on the importance of natural laws in explaining illness. Unschuld points out that much of what we surmise about the human organism is simply a projection, reflecting dominant values and social goals, and he constructs a hypothesis to explain the formation and acceptance of basic notions of health and disease in a given society. Reading the Su wen, he says, not only offers a better understanding of the roots of Chinese medicine as an integrated aspect of Chinese civilization; it also provides a much needed starting point for discussions of the differences and parallels between European and Chinese ways of dealing with illness and the risk of early death.
Huang di nei jing su wen [electronic resource] : an annotated translation of Huang Di's Inner Classic -- Basic Questions by
A foundation of Chinese life sciences and medicine, the Huang Di Nei Jing Su Wen is now available for the first time in a complete, fully annotated English translation. Also known as Su Wen, or The Yellow Emperor’s Inner Classic, this influential work came into being over a long period reaching from the 2nd century bce to the 8th century ce. Combining the views of different schools, it relies exclusively on natural law as conceptualized in yin/yang and Five Agents doctrines to define health and disease, and repeatedly emphasizes personal responsibility for the length and quality of one’s life. This two-volume edition includes excerpts from all the major commentaries on the Su Wen, and extensive annotation drawn from hundreds of monographs and articles by Chinese and Japanese authors produced over the past 1600 years and into the twentieth century.
Introduction to Research: Understanding and Applying Multiple Strategies 5th by
Bridge the gap between research and practice with DePoy and Gitlin's Introduction to Research: Understanding and Applying Multiple Strategies, 4th Edition. This completely updated, user-friendly text helps you better understand not only the research process, but also research designs and their applications to the real world of clinical practice. Covering multiple research strategies (including both qualitative and quantitative research), it gives you a balanced approach to various research traditions, addressing the key issues that are emerging in today's health care environment. Case examples provide real-life snapshots of what it is like to participate in different types of research processes, identify research dilemmas relevant to chapter subjects, and alert you to problems you might encounter. Authors make the topics more accessible, so research becomes more relevant - and topics come to life. Covers experimental-type, naturalistic, and mixed method design strategies to improve your ability to compare, contrast, and integrate different methods. Presents complex information clearly in a highly readable, and easy-to-understand, manner. Includes detailed discussions of qualitative and quantitative methodologies, a unique and balanced focus that makes this text more comprehensive than others in its field. NEW! Up-to-date research methods, strategies, and references, like digital sources, visual methods, and geographical analysis, give you the latest information on research in diverse areas of health and human services.
Journey Across the Life Span: Human Development and Health Promotion 6th by
Emphasis on clinical application "Helpful Hints" boxes that highlight important facts Easy-to-understand tables, illustrations, and photographs Multiple-choice questions that assess mastery of the material Chapter summaries with key points for quick review Concepts to engage patients in planning for their futures
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Sixteenth Edition by
This user-friendly text and atlas combination is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to elucidate key concepts and facilitate learning Doody's Core Titles for 2023! For more than four decades, this trusted classic has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, Junqueira's Basic Histology provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology; it provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. It covers all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more. Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's explains how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems. Each chapter includes multiple-choice self-test questions enabling readers to assess their comprehension of important material; some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology--and there is nothing else like it. Features: Self-test questions in every chapter Key points and summary tables highlight key content Clinical correlations presented with each topic Illustrations depict key aspects of cell biology and histology Electron and light micrographs deliver a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures Valuable appendix explains light microscopy stains Lab manual alerts readers to see what they are actually reading about in real-life patients; enhanced lab manual available online Links to Junqueira micrographs
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry by
Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established go-to resource for mastering the essentials of biochemistry. This best-selling text helps students quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information, with unparalleled illustrations that bring concepts to life. Like other titles in the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Review Series, this text follows an intuitive outline organization and boasts a wealth of study aids that clarify challenging information and strengthen retention and understanding. This updated and revised edition emphasizes clinical application and features new exercises, questions, and accompanying digital resources to ready students for success on exams and beyond. NEW! Clinical Application boxes train students to confidently apply biochemistry in clinical scenarios. NEW! Cross-references to other Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews titles help students grasp how biochemical concepts relate to other basic sciences. UPDATED! Vibrant illustrations and detailed tables clarify complex biochemical concepts. NEW and UPDATED! Study Questions and Answers for each chapter test students' retention and strengthen their test-taking confidence. UPDATED! Integrative Case Studies with Review Questions familiarize students with commonly encountered clinical scenarios and alert them to potential widespread implications of presenting issues. NEW! Animations enhance students' understanding of biochemical concepts and processes with vivid detail and accuracy. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, video tutorials, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
The Medical Interview: Mastering Skills for Clinical Practice 5th by
Enhanced and reorganized material on the patient profile, lifestyle, substance abuse, and sexual history. New section on interviewing skills related to ethical and legal issues and how to deal with unanticipated adverse outcomes. Web-based interview organizer available at DavisPlus Cut-and-carry interview tips Two additional chapters Helping patients understand, interpret, and utilize material obtained on the Internet. More coverage of transparency in the medical interview. Handling difficult interview situations and difficult patients. How spirituality relates to healthcare and the clinician-patient interaction. Redesigned interview format for greater ease-of-use and clearer understanding.
The Medical Interview: The Three Function Approach by
The Medical Interview by Drs. Steven A. Cole and Julian Bird equips you to communicate effectively with your patients so you can provide optimal care! This best-selling, widely adopted resource presents a practical, systematic approach to honing your basic interviewing skills and managing common challenging communicating situations. Its Three-Function Approach - "Build the Relationship," "Assess and Understand," and Collaborative Management" offers straightforward tasks, behaviors, and skills that can be easily mastered, making this an ideal learning tool for beginners and a valuable reference for experienced healthcare professionals. Effectively meet a full range of communication challenges including language and cultural barriers, sexual issues, elderly patients, breaking bad news, and non-adherence. Easily apply proven techniques with help from supportive case examples and actual interview questions. Get the skills you need now with new chapters covering advanced topics and applications including "Presentation and Documentation," nonverbal communication, using psychological principles in medical practice, and integrating structure and function. Quickly review information with summary tables, boxes and bulleted lists. Get access on the go with the fully searchable text online at Student Consult, including cost-free access to a specially customized, interactive web-based Module on Brief Action Planning (BAP), a key component of the web-based, interactive Comprehensive Motivational Interventions (CMI)T e-learning platform.
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by
Back by popular demand: the world's most widely-used medical reference, now in its 20th edition. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy has been thoroughly updated and expanded with a larger trim size to include 40% new and revised content, including 36 new chapters with more than 200 tables and 100 figures. Packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders, this comprehensive guide was written by a team of renowned medical experts. It is intended for everyday use by healthcare professionals to ensure delivery of the best care to their patients. The new Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy makes it easy to find the right information at the moment it's needed, with the help of section thumb tabs. It is a must-have for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, nurses, and allied health professionals. New larger trim 7 3/4 x 9 1/4 to accommodate 40% new content 36 completely new chapters Revised and expanded chapters in Cardiovascular, Genitourinary, Gynecologic, Neurologic, Pregnancy, and Infants and Children Pediatrics and trauma section significantly revised and expanded Key Points summarize the facts at-a-glance New Pearls & Pitfalls highlight noteworthy medical info and areas of caution 16-page full-color insert aids visual recognition of skin, eye, and oral disorders
Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: Helping Patients Change Behavior by
Much of health care today involves helping patients manage conditions whose outcomes can be greatly influenced by lifestyle or behavior change. Written specifically for health care professionals, this concise book presents powerful tools to enhance communication with patients and guide them in making choices to improve their health, from weight loss, exercise, and smoking cessation, to medication adherence and safer sex practices. Engaging dialogues and vignettes bring to life the core skills of motivational interviewing (MI) and show how to incorporate this brief evidence-based approach into any health care setting. Appendices include MI training resources and publications on specific medical conditions. This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers.
Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Conte: Structures, Sections, Systems, and Syndromes 10th by
Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context is unique in integrating clinical information, correlations, and terminology with neuroanatomical concepts. It provides everything students need to not only master the anatomy of the central nervous system, but also understand its clinical relevance - ensuring preparedness for exams and clinical rotations. This authoritative approach, combined with salutary features such as full-color stained sections, extensive cranial nerve cross-referencing, and systems neurobiology coverage, sustains the legacy of this legendary teaching and learning tool. Emphasizes neuroscience information, concepts, and images that collectively constitute a comprehensive, clinically oriented overview of systems neurobiology Offers clear explanations, hundreds of review questions, and supplemental online resources that provide a sound anatomical basis for integrating neurobiological and clinical information Features an abundance of updated and expanded clinical content throughout all chapters to reflect the latest neuroscience knowledge Expands Clinical Syndromes of the Central Nervous System chapter to include a new section featuring Stroke Syndromes Introduces numerous new MRI, CT, MRA, and MRV images, as well as updated full-color photographs and artwork, to bring the content to life like never before Uses contemporary clinical and basic science terminology in its proper context Integrates detailed and richly illustrated coverage of neuroanatomy with neuroscience and clinical concepts, allowing students to understand the material's clinical context and relevance Offers a wealth of neuroimaging examples, clinical photographs, and full-color artwork that vividly demonstrate how neuroanatomy presents in clinical practice Features the masterful teaching of Duane E. Haines, PhD, FAAAS, FAAA, a widely respected and accomplished educator who has helped generations of students master neuroanatomy and neuroscience eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Nolte's the Human Brain: An Introduction to its Functional Anatomy 7th by
Popular for its highly visual and easy-to-follow approach, Nolte's The Human Brain helps demystify the complexities of the gross anatomy of the brain, spinal cord and brainstem. A clear writing style, interesting examples and visual cues bring this extremely complicated subject to life and more understandable. Get the depth of coverage you need with discussions on all key topics in functional neuroanatomy and neuroscience, giving you well-rounded coverage of this complex subject. Zero in on the key information you need to know with highly templated, concise chapters that reinforce and expand your knowledge. Develop a thorough, clinically relevant understanding through clinical examples providing a real-life perspective. Gain a greater understanding of every concept through a glossary of key terms that elucidates every part of the text; 3-dimensional brain. Acquaint yourself with the very latest advancements in the field with many illustrations using the most current neuroimaging techniques, reflecting recent developments and changes in understanding. Keep up with the latest knowledge in neural plasticity including formation, modification, and repair of connections, with coverage of learning and memory, as well as the coming revolution in ways to fix damaged nervous systems, trophic factors, stem cells, and more. NEW! Gauge your mastery of the material and build confidence with over 100 multiple choice questions that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine 8E by
The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams.
Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book.
This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment.
Photographic Manual of Regional Orthopaedic and Neurological Tests 5th by
The Photographic Manual of Regional Orthopaedic and Neurologic Tests describes in step-by-step fashion how to perform these tests. Each chapter begins with a decision tree of the orthopaedic examination of an anatomic area, followed by a brief description of the anatomic area, usually with an accompanying drawing. The presentation of each test begins with a clinical description and a box of clinical signs and symptoms, followed by a brief description of the procedure with a photograph demonstrating the position of the clinician and the patient. The author then presents a brief rationale for the test and suggests diagnostic imaging procedures where appropriate. An accompanying DVD demonstrates a typical examination"--Provided by publisher.
The Practice of Chinese Medicine: The Treatment of Diseases with Acupuncture and Chinese Herbs 2nd by
The 2nd edition of The Practice of Chinese Medicine: The Treatment of Diseases with Acupuncture and Chinese Herbs describes the application of traditional Chinese medical theory to the diagnosis and treatment of 48 diseases, conditions and disorders. In addition to the existing 34 covered in the first edition, 14 new conditions and symptoms have been added, and these include common, chronic, and acute conditions which clinicians may see in their practice. Each chapter contains aetiology and pathology; differential diagnosis according to TCM; selection of treatments with acupuncture and herbs, with explanation of choices; case studies for illustration; summary of Western differential diagnosis; and discussion of prognosis and prevention. This book brings the enormous wealth of the author's experience, and his insights in applying TCM medicine to a Western context, to the support of all clinicians whatever their own range of experiences.
Principles of Medical Biochemistry 4th by
For nearly 30 years, Principles of Medical Biochemistry has integrated medical biochemistry with molecular genetics, cell biology, and genetics to provide complete yet concise coverage that links biochemistry with clinical medicine. The 4th Edition of this award-winning text by Drs. Gerhard Meisenberg and William H. Simmons has been fully updated with new clinical examples, expanded coverage of recent changes in the field, and many new case studies online. A highly visual format helps readers retain complex information, and USMLE-style questions (in print and online) assist with exam preparation. Just the right amount of detail on biochemistry, cell biology, and genetics - in one easy-to-digest textbook. Full-color illustrations and tables throughout help students master challenging concepts more easily. Online case studies serve as a self-assessment and review tool before exams. Glossary of technical terms, both in print and online. Clinical Boxes and Clinical Content demonstrate the integration of basic sciences and clinical applications, helping readers make connections between the two. New clinical examples have been added throughout the text. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text, images, and references from the book.
Robbins Basic Pathology 10th by
Part of the trusted Robbins and Cotran family, Robbins Basic Pathology provides a readable, well-illustrated and concise overview of the principles of human pathology that's ideal for today's busy students. This thoroughly revised edition continues with a strong emphasis on pathogenesis and the clinical features of disease, adding new artwork and more schematic diagrams to further aid in summarizing key pathologic processes and expand the already impressive illustration program. Excellent art program boasts high-quality photomicrographs, gross photos, and radiologic images to supplement the world-class illustrations. Bulleted summary boxes provide quick access to key information and easy review of key concepts. Highlights pathogenesis, morphology, and pathophysiologic content throughout. Includes increased and updated clinical topics. New artwork and more schematic diagrams summarize key pathologic processes. An all-star editorial team enables you to gain a rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and images from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also access virtual microscope slides, self-assessment questions, additional images, updated pathology case studies, and Targeted Therapy boxes.
Rubin's Pathology: Mechanisms of Human Disease 8th by
With a simple approach to essential information, Rubin’s Pathology: Mechanisms of Human Disease establishes the foundation for medical training and practice and delivers the perfect balance of basic pathology and bedside perspective to confidently and efficiently equip students for clinical success. More accessible than ever, this eighth edition emphasizes the coverage students need most—disease mechanisms, integration of mechanisms into organ system pathology, and application of pathobiology to diagnostic medicine—in an approachable format with systems-based instruction techniques in mind. Comprehensively revised and updated content reflects the latest approaches to pathology from global leaders in the field and ensures a clinically relevant understanding of key pathology competencies. Comprehensively revised coverage simplifies the essentials of pathology and ensures a clinically relevant understanding of key competencies and techniques. Updated content reflects the international expertise of some of the most innovative authorities on pathology.
New systems-based instruction approach ensures a practical understanding of essential techniques.
Approachable format makes learning engaging and efficient. More than 1700 images—line drawings, micrographs, and gross pathology images—clarify concepts in stunning detail.
Bolded key terms and bulleted lists reinforce important information at a glance.
Skeletal Imaging: Atlas of the Spine and Extremities 2nd by
Use this atlas to accurately interpret images of musculoskeletal disorders! Taylor, Hughes, and Resnick's Skeletal Imaging: Atlas of the Spine and Extremities, 2nd Edition covers each anatomic region separately, so common disorders are shown within the context of each region. This allows you to examine and compare images for a variety of different disorders. A separate chapter is devoted to each body region, with coverage of normal developmental anatomy, developmental anomalies and normal variations, and how to avoid a misdiagnosis by differentiating between disorders that appear to be similar. All of the most frequently encountered musculoskeletal conditions are included, from physical injuries to tumors to infectious diseases. Over 2,100 images include radiographs, radionuclide studies, CT scans, and MR images, illustrating pathologies and comparing them with other disorders in the same region. Organization by anatomic region addresses common afflictions for each region in separate chapters, so you can see how a particular region looks when affected by one condition as compared to its appearance with other conditions. Coverage of each body region includes normal developmental anatomy, fractures, deformities, dislocations, infections, hematologic disorders, and more. Normal Developmental Anatomy sections open each chapter, describing important developmental landmarks in various regions of the body from birth to skeletal maturity. Practical tables provide a quick reference to essential information, including normal developmental anatomic milestones, developmental anomalies, common presentations and symptoms of diseases, and much more. 400 new and replacement images are added to the book, showing a wider variety of pathologies. More MR imaging is added to each chapter. Up-to-date research includes the latest on scientific advances in imaging. References are completely updated with new information and evidence.
The Tao of Healthy Eating: Dietary Wisdom According to Traditional Chinese Medicine by
This book presents both the traditional Chinese teaching on preventive & remedial dietary therapy as well as addresses such modern Western concerns as high cholesterol, candidiasis & obesity. The author begins with an introduction to the basic theories of Chinese medicine as they relate to digestion, diet & health. He then goes on to discuss Chinese dietary recommendations for the most commonly seen Chinese patterns of imbalance amongst Westerners. After talking about the Chinese medical views on food allergies, candidiasis, cholesterol, obesity & coffee, the author breaks revolutionary new ground by describing all the common vitamins, minerals & amino acids as if they were traditional Chinese medicinals. This allows Westerners for the first time to pick & choose orthomolecular supplements according to the wisdom & theories of Chinese medicine. Next comes the Chinese medical descriptions of approximately 200 commonly eaten Western foods. Under each food, the author give its nature & flavors, channel gatherings, Chinese medical functions & indications. Armed with this information, if one knows their Chinese medical pattern of disharmony, anyone can determine whether a particular food is good or bad for them. The book is rounded out with an index & bibliography. The text is written in a clear, straightforward style suitable for laypersons with little or no prior knowledge of Chinese medicine.
Weir and Abrahams' Imaging Atlas of Human Anatomy 5th by
Imaging is ever more integral to anatomy education and throughout modern medicine. Building on the success of previous editions, this fully revised fifth edition provides a superb foundation for understanding applied human anatomy, offering a complete view of the structures and relationships within the body using the very latest imaging techniques. ? It is ideally suited to the needs of medical students, as well as radiologists, radiographers and surgeons in training. It will also prove invaluable to the range of other students and professionals who require a clear, accurate, view of anatomy in current practice. Fully revised legends and labels and over 80% new images - featuring the latest imaging techniques and modalities as seen in clinical practice Covers the full variety of relevant modern imaging - including cross-sectional views in CT and MRI, angiography, ultrasound, fetal anatomy, plain film anatomy, nuclear medicine imaging and more - with better resolution to ensure the clearest anatomical views Unique new summaries of the most common, clinically important anatomical variants for each body region - reflects the fact that around 20% of human bodies have at least one clinically significant variant New orientation drawings - to help you understand the different views and the 3D anatomy of 2D images, as well as the conventions between cross-sectional modalities Now a more compete learning package than ever before, with superb new BONUS electronic enhancements embedded within the accompanying eBook, including: Labelled image 'stacks' - that allow you to review cross-sectional imaging as if using an imaging workstation Labelled image 'slide-lines' - showing features in a full range of body radiographs to enhance understanding of anatomy in this essential modality Self-test image 'slideshows' with multi-tier labelling - to aid learning and cater for beginner to more advanced experience levels Labelled ultrasound videos - bring images to life, reflecting this increasingly clinically practiced technique Questions and answers accompany each chapter - to test your understanding and aid exam preparation 34 pathology tutorials - based around nine key concepts and illustrated with hundreds of additional pathology images, to further develop your memory of anatomical structures and lead you through the essential relationships between normal and abnormal anatomy
Williams' Basic Nutrition and Diet Therapy 15th by
For concise, need-to-know coverage of the most up-to-date topics and research in nutritional care turn to Williams' Basic Nutrition & Diet Therapy, 15th Edition. This market leading text provides coverage of hot topics, emerging trends, and cutting-edge research, plus all the essentials for providing the best nutrition care. And with its conversational writing style, vivid illustrations, and wide array of reader-friendly features you can easily understand how the concepts in the book can be applied in clinical practice. Case studies with accompanying questions for analysis in the clinical care chapters focus your attention on related patient care problems. Cultural Considerations boxes discuss how a patient's culture can affect nutritional concepts in practice. Clinical Applications and For Further Focus boxes highlight timely topics and analyze concepts and trends in depth. Bulleted chapter summaries review highlights from the chapter and help you see how the chapter contributes to the book's "big picture." Diet therapy guidelines include recommendations, restrictions, and sample diets for major clinical conditions. Drug-Nutrient Interactions boxes highlight important safety information and cover topics such as nutritional supplements for athletics, drugs interfering with vitamin absorption, and over-the-counter weight loss aids. Key terms and definitions clarify terminology and concepts critical to your understanding and application of the material. NEW! Completely updated content incorporate the recently released 2015 dietary guidelines, Healthy People objectives, nutrition labels, common weight-loss diets, FDA/CDC statistics/warnings regarding trans fatty acids, disordered eating, and more. NEW! New chapter review questions reflect the latest NCLEX Exam format. Answers to these questions will appear in the appendix. NEW! Rewritten chapters on clinical nutrition take a more application-based approach and feature clarified explanations, enhanced readability, a focus on the most relevant and practical information, and new topics such as energy expenditure calculations, water balance, cirrhosis complications, diet plans for diabetes, and more. NEW! Updated Nutrition and Physical Fitness chapter written by sport dietitian Kary Woodruff reflects the latest research in the field, including new questionnaires used for exercise readiness, current recommendations for energy needs, and nutritional considerations for athletic performance. NEW! Updated Weight Management chapter written by certified adult weight management dietitian Theresa Dvorak reflects the latest research in the field, including the role of genetics, disordered eating, treatments for obesity, and more.
|
DynaMed
|
EBSCO Mobile
|
Complete Anatomy
|
Kahoot!
|
|
Canvas
|
Examplify
|
Draw it to Know it
|
Access Medicine
|
