LibGuides: Doctor of Whole Health Leadership (DWHL): Doctor of Whole Health Leadership

E-Book Platforms

Contact Information

Please contact us with any questions or requests regarding accessing resources from the LRC.

Librarian: Josh Shulman, MLIS

Phone: 562-368-3146

Email: scuhslibrary@scuhs.edu

DWHL Resources

Meaning in life and physical health: systematic review and meta-analysis by Katarzyna Czekierda, Anna Banik, Crystal L. Park and Aleksandra Luszczynska
Publication Date: 2017

This systematic review and meta-analysis aimed to clarify the associations between meaning in life and physical health using random-effects models. Conceptualisation of meaning (order in world vs. purpose in life), type of health indicators, participants’ health status, and age issues were investigated as moderators.
Purpose in Life Predicts Allostatic Load Ten Years Later by Samuele Zilioli, Richard B Slatcher, Anthony D Ong, Tara L Gruenewald
Publication Date: 2015

Living a purposeful life is associated with better mental and physical health,
including longevity. Accumulating evidence shows that these associations might be explained by the association between life purpose and regulation of physiological systems involved in the stress response. The aim of this study was to investigate the prospective associations between life purpose and allostatic load over a 10-year period.
How to Incorporate Wellness Coaching into Your Therapeutic Practice by Laurel Alexander
Publication Date: 2011-07-15

Wellness coaching is an emerging and vibrant area of healthcare. It takes healing beyond the curing of symptoms and empowers clients to take their health back into their own hands.
Motivational Interviewing in Health Care by Stephen Rollnick; William R. Miller; Christopher C. Butler
Publication Date: 2007-11-06
The Coaches' Handbook by Jonathan Passmore (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020-09-22

This comprehensive practitioner guide provides an accessible evidenced based approach aimed at those new to coaching and who may be undertaking coach training for a certificate in coaching or professional credentials or accreditation with the AC, ICF, EMCC, CMI or ILM. The book will also be useful for those who want to enhance their coaching skills.

DISCOVERY Search
Very broad, "google-like" search engine. LRC recommends as student's first research stop! Searches multiple reputable databases for journal articles, books, e-books, and more.
Netter Reference
Select "Book Details" and "Explore This Book" to access the Netter Presenter and content. For clinical professionals or students who are learning anatomy, participating in a dissection lab, sharing anatomy knowledge with patients, or refreshing their anatomy knowledge. Illustrations emphasize anatomic relationships that are most important to the clinician in training and practice.
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL is an index of journal articles related to allied health, nursing, biomedicine and healthcare. It includes research tools, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and broad support care focus.
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov has been developed by the U.S. National Institutes of Health through its National Library of Medicine, to provide current information about public and private clinical research studies.
Cochrane Methodology Register
The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions. The register includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts and reports of ongoing methodological research. Relevant records are identified by the UK Cochrane Centre through handsearching and sources including MEDLINE. -Publisher
MEDLINE with Full Text
This authoritative database provides full text, cover-to-cover indexing for journals indexed in MEDLINE. These top journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Ovid
Large database of scientific and medical research. The LRC licenses full-text journals through OVID. Such as Academic Medicine, Neurology, Spine, Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants and Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research.
PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites." -Website
ScienceDirect
Database of scientific and medical research. It hosts over 12 million pieces of content from 3,500 academic journals and 34,000 e-books.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies. -Publisher

INTEGRATIVE HEALTH JOURNALS

Alternative & Complementary Therapies
(2016 - Present)
Please click on the link to LiebertOnline Journals to access this leading journal delivering practical and evidence-based research on integrating alternative medical therapies and approaches into private practice or hospital integrative medicine programs.
Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine
(1995 - Present)
International scientific forum for the dissemination of information to healthcare professionals regarding the use of complementary & alternative therapies in promoting health & healing.
American Homeopath
(1994 - Present)
NASH is proud to continue the longstanding tradition of publishing The American Homeopath, the journal of the North American Society of Homeopaths. Created in 1994, this annual journal is a scholarly collection of articles, interviews, case studies, materia medica studies and more.
American Journal of Homeopathic Medicine
(2002 - Present)
Presents articles of historical interest, current research, and case studies. Includes listings of foreign and U.S. homeopathic organizations and upcoming homeopathic conferences and meetings.
BMC Complimentary and Alternative Medicine
(2001 - 2019)
BMC Complementary Medicine and Therapies is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research articles on interventions and resources that complement or replace conventional therapies, with a specific emphasis on research that explores the biological mechanisms of action, as well as their efficacy, safety, costs, patterns of use and/or implementation.
Evidence-based Complementary & Alternative Medicine (eCAM)
(2007 - Present)
Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine seeks to apply scientific rigor to the study of complementary and alternative medicine, emphasizing on health outcome, while documenting biological mechanisms of action.
Health & Homeopathy
(2002 - Present)
Covers informative aricles on homeopathy. Read by homeopathy doctors and those interested in a holistic approach to their health.
Journal of Alternative Medicine Research
(2013 - Present)
Journal of Alternative Medicine Research is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal aimed at the scientific community interested in the broad area of integrative, complementary and alternative medicine. This Journal provides an international, multidisciplinary forum with a holistic approach to health issues, health and medicine, social policy, service aspects, developmental aspects, epidemiology, rehabilitation, social issues, quality of life, and all other aspects of human development over the whole age spectrum.

MEDICAL / HEALTH SCIENCE JOURNALS

American Journal of Bioethics
(2001 - Present)
Article embargo with 15 month access delay.
he American Journal of Bioethics (AJOB) is an international journal of bioethics that publishes leading research on current ethical challenges in the health sciences. AJOB has followed through on the innovative vision that built bioethics: serious discussion of the social implications of biomedicine.
Anatomy: International Journal of Experimental & Clinical Anatomy
(2010 - 2021)
Covers topics in anatomy such as experimental, functional & comparative anatomy, neuroanatomy, modern imaging techniques, molecular biology, cell biology and embryology & morphological studies of veterinary discipline.
Anatomy and Cell Biology
(2010 - Present)
Anatomy & Cell Biology is an international forum for multi-perspective discussion of all fields of anatomy, particularly the field of cell biology based on anatomy. The journal publishes papers from basic to applied fields, and covers studies of all levels of biological organizations in human and animal models.
Applied Biochemistry & Microbiology
(2003 - Present)
Article embargo with 12 month access delay.
Applied Biochemistry and Microbiology is an international peer reviewed journal that publishes original articles on biochemistry and microbiology that have or may have practical applications.
Archives of Physiology & Biochemistry
(1998 - Present)
Article embargo with 15 month access delay.
Archives of Physiology and Biochemistry is an interdisciplinary platform which looks to integrate major findings in the field of metabolism research. The journal has a special emphasis on the control of energy homeostasis, including the pathogenesis and putative therapy of metabolic diseases such as diabetes, obesity, and lipid and cardiovascular disorders.
Bioethics
(1998 - Present)
Article embargo with 12 month access delay.
Peer reviewed articles on the ethical questions raised by current biomedical research and issues. Questions are considered on the basis of concrete ethical, legal, and policy problems, and in terms of fundamental concepts, principles and theories.
BMC Neuroscience
(2000 - Present)
BMC Neuroscience is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of neuroscience, welcoming studies that provide insight into the molecular, cellular, developmental, genetic and genomic, systems, network, cognitive and behavioral aspects of nervous system function in both health and disease.
Cellular Physiology and Biochemistry
(2019 to Present)
International, peer-reviewed journal of experimental cellular physiology, biochemistry, and pharmacology that uses a single-blind peer review system
Journal of Cellular Physiology
(2005 - Present)
Article embargo with 12 month access delay.
The Journal of Cellular Physiology publishes high-quality original research articles and reviews in areas of eukaryotic cell biology and physiology, focusing on those articles that adopt a molecular mechanistic approach to investigate cell structure and function.
Journal of Exercise Physiology Online
(1998 - Present)
The Journal of Exercise Physiology Online, published by the American Society of Exercise Physiologists, is a professional peer reviewed Internet-based journal devoted to original research in exercise physiology.
Neurology & Clinical Neuroscience
(2015 - Present)
Article embargo with 12 month access delay.
Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience publishes high quality articles in neurology and clinical neuroscience. Original articles cover broad areas of neurology and basic research relevant to neurological diseases.

HEALTH POLICY

BMC Medical Informatics and Decision Making
BMC Medical Informatics and Decision Making is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research articles in relation to the design, development, implementation, use, and evaluation of health information technologies and decision-making for human health.
International Journal of Risk and Safety in Medicine
The International Journal of Risk and Safety in Medicine is concerned with rendering the practice of medicine as safe as it can be; that involves promoting the highest possible quality of care, but also examining how those risks which are inevitable can be contained and managed.
Journal of Health Services Research & Policy
With ever increasing pressure for health services in all countries to meet rising demands, improve their quality and efficiency, and to be more accountable; the need for rigorous research and policy analysis has never been greater.
Journal of Public Health Policy
The Journal of Public Health Policy is a peer-reviewed medical journal established in 1980 by Milton Terris. It covers the field of public health and is the official journal of the National Association for Public Health Policy.

PUBLIC HEALTH

American Journal of Public Health
The American Journal of Public Health is a monthly peer-reviewed public health journal published by the American Public Health Association that covers health policy and public health. The journal was established in 1911 and its stated mission is "to advance public health research, policy, practice, and education."
Annual Review of Public Health
The Annual Review of Public Health is a peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes review articles about public health, including epidemiology, biostatistics, occupational safety and health, environmental health, and health policy.
Bulletin of the World Health Organization
The Bulletin of the World Health Organization is a monthly public health journal published by the World Health Organization that was established in 1948. Articles are published in English and abstracts are available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish
Journal of Public Health Policy
The Journal of Public Health Policy is a peer-reviewed medical journal established in 1980 by Milton Terris. It covers the field of public health and is the official journal of the National Association for Public Health Policy.
Journal of Public Health Research
The Journal of Public Health Research is an online Open Access, peer-reviewed scholarly journal in the field of public health science. The aim of the journal is to stimulate debate and dissemination of knowledge in the public health field in order to improve efficacy, effectiveness and efficiency of public health interventions to improve health outcomes.

HEALTH ECONOMICS

American Journal of Health Economics
The articles appearing in AJHE are authored by scholars from universities, private research organizations, government, and industry. Subjects of interest include competition among private insurers, hospitals, and physicians; impacts of public insurance programs; pharmaceutical innovation and regulation; medical device supply; the rise of obesity and its consequences; the influence and growth of aging populations; and much mor
The European Journal of Health Economics: HEPAC
The European Journal of Health Economics is a highly scientific and at the same time practical oriented journal considering the requirements of various health care systems in Europe. The international scientific board of opinion leaders guarantee high-quality, peer reviewed publications as well as articles for pragmatic approaches in the field of Health Economics.
PharmacoEconomics and Outcomes News
Value in Health: The journal of the International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research
Published on behalf of the International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research Value in Health is an international, indexed journal that publishes original research and health policy articles that advance the field of health economics and outcomes research to help healthcare leaders make evidence-based decisions.

TRANSFORMATIONAL LEADERSHIP

Journal of Healthcare Leadership
The Journal of Healthcare Leadership is an international journal focusing on leadership for healthcare professions. The journal strives to provide up-to-date trends on theoretical and best practices in healthcare, and insights into leadership progress and effective solutions to improve patient care, to both current and future healthcare leaders.
Journal of Healthcare Management
The Journal of Healthcare Management (JHM) is an official journal of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE). Published bimonthly, JHM is a peer-reviewed publication dedicated to providing healthcare leaders with the information they need to manage complex healthcare issues and to make effective strategic decisions.
Population Health Management
Population Health Management is a bimonthly peer-reviewed public health journal covering the study of population health, and how it can be improved by improving health care services.

Academy of Integrative Health & Medicine

AIHM

Health Policy

Kaiser Permanente Institute for Health Policy

Integrative Medicine

VA Resources

AI Search and Summary Tools

Connected Papers (free; subscription options available)
Connected Papers is a unique, visual tool to help researchers and applied scientists find and explore papers relevant to their field of work. It analyzes an order of ~50,000 papers and selects the few dozen with the strongest connections to the origin paper.
Elicit (free; subscription options available)
Elicit provides in-depth, automated literature reviews, AI for systematic literature reviews, AI-powered scientific paper search options, and alerts for new research.
Semantic Scholar (free; subscription options available)
Semantic Scholar provides free, AI-driven search and discovery tools, and open resources for the global research community. Semantic Scholar indexes over 200 million academic papers sourced from publisher partnerships, data providers, and web crawls.
Undermind AI (free; subscription options available)
Undermind covers all fields of science using the Semantic Scholar database of over 200 million articles, which contains PubMed, ArXiv, and many other databases.

AI Citation Guide

AMA AI Citation Guidance

The AMA Manual has introduced new sections (5.1.12 and 5.2.1.1) addressing the use of AI. According to this update, AI tools should not be credited as authors, and content generated by AI will not be included in the reference list. Instead, any use of AI should be disclosed in the Acknowledgment section or, if it forms part of the research design or methodology, in the Methods section.

APA AI Citation Format
Per the APA website: "Transparency is an important part of scientific reporting—that is, you should describe what you did and why so that readers can understand, evaluate, and potentially replicate your work. Thus, if you used AI when writing your paper, it will usually be necessary to disclose the use and cite the chat and/or AI tool."

Doctor of Whole Health Leadership (DWHL): Doctor of Whole Health Leadership

Banner Placeholder (1600x500)

E-Book Platforms

Contact Information

DWHL Resources