Please contact us with any questions or requests regarding accessing resources from the LRC.
Librarian: Joshua Shulman, MLIS
Phone: 562-368-3146
Email: scuhslibrary@scuhs.edu
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 15e by
Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available; Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking 13th by
Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
This updated ninth edition of the leading medical physical examination pocket guide available today provides concise, authoritative guidance on how to perform the patient interview, physical examination, and other core assessments. This trusted pocket-sized reference includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques, retaining the easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. Now featuring an enhanced design, new content, and new student-friendly learning aids, Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Ninth Edition, is the ideal quick-reference resource for today's medical, PA, pharmacy, and nursing students. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Algorithms provide helpful starting approaches for patients with common presenting symptoms. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Before We Are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects 9th by
As the study of embryology continues to be integrated with a range of disciplines, Before We Are Born remains the ideal solution for students who need to quickly learn the basics. Fully updated by the world's foremost embryologists, this medical reference book provides concise guidance on human embryology at every stage of development, utilizing rich illustrations and photographs designed to further explain content. Understand all of the latest advances in embryology, including normal and abnormal embryogenesis, causes of birth defects, and the role of genes in human development. See how discoveries in molecular biology have affected clinical practice, including the development of sophisticated new techniques such as recumbent DNA technology and stem cell manipulation. Prepare for the USMLE Step 1 with clinical case presentations, highlighted in special boxes, which demonstrate how embryology concepts relate to clinical practice. Quickly review just the embryology information you need to know, masterfully distilled from the popular book The Developing Human, written by the same author team. Understand the complex concepts inherent in embryology with help from streamlined content, didactic illustrations, and clinical photos. Test your knowledge with brand-new review questions at the end of each chapter. Searchable, portable, shareable, and perpetual, this Student Consult title offers enhanced features that allow you to interact with your content like never before.
Case Studies in Emergency Medicine by
A case-based book organized by the top 10 common complaints of patients presenting to emergency departments. This approach allows the reader to learn the pathophysiology of the major diseases, and analyze each case in a way that more closely approximates the clinical practice of medicine; not knowing which organ system is damaged or compromised before examining the patient. The cases are based on real patients and the diseases are either common in emergency practice, or are dangerous diagnoses not to be missed. The case descriptions include questions regarding the patient's presentation and basic information about the disease, illustrating key elements from the history, physical, and when necessary ancillary studies that help lead to a diagnosis. Each chapter ends with a flow diagram showing how diseases of different organ systems can present with similar initial complaints. This book is an ideal resource for medical students, residents and trainees in emergency medicine.
Clinical Imaging: With Skeletal, Chest, & Abdominal Pattern Differentials 3rd by
Clinical Imaging is a comprehensive text with a clear, concise writing style that allows students and practitioners to quickly develop a better understanding of diagnostic imaging. Covering soft tissue imaging and skeletal imaging, including brain and spinal cord, chest, and abdomen, seamlessly integrates plain film with MRI and CT. And with more than 3,500 illustrations all contained in one volume, this trusted text offers the most effective, realistic and comprehensive approach available today. "For students who need to get up to speed with abnormal radiographic appearances this book is a good start." Reviewed by RAD Magazine, Jan 2015 Combines the innovative pattern approach with more traditional detailed descriptions to emulate real-world patient interaction without sacrificing more in-depth content on disease states. Innovative Pattern Approach uses the patterns that link similar abnormalities to help you learn to identify, and just as importantly, differentiate abnormalities. Extensive cross-referencing from pattern to disease descriptions enables the reader to quickly find more detailed information. Dedicated chapter on the key subject of radiology physics, including algorithms for improving film quality. A glossary of nearly 500 radiological terms. NEW! Over 800 new or updated images. NEW! State-of-the-art MRI images deliver more comprehensive content for this growing field within imaging. NEW! Updated photographs familiarize you with radiographic positioning equipment. NEW! Clearer, more detailed line art visually reinforces your understanding of new concepts. NEW! Additional contributors provide fresh perspectives on important topics and trends.
Clinically Oriented Anatomy 8th by
The world's most trusted clinically focused anatomy text! Renowned for comprehensive coverage, the best-selling Clinically Oriented Anatomy guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. The eighth edition reflects significant new information and updates and maintains the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. Comprehensive updates reflect changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as new imaging technologies, focusing on the anatomy that students need to know. Extensively revised "Clinical Blue Boxes" explore the practical applications of anatomy, and helpful icons distinguish the type of clinical information covered in each. Clinically relevant anatomy focuses on physical diagnosis, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, with updates throughout , make this book an aesthetically rewarding learning resource. Combined with many photographs and medical images, these stunning visuals facilitate comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. New and updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Expanded "Overview and Basic Concepts" chapter includes functional systemic anatomy summaries and introduces approaches to studying anatomy, terminology, imaging, and more. Inclusion of new sections describing the enteric nervous system (considered by some as a "second brain") and its unique role in the innervation of the digestive system gives students cutting-edge insight into this significant scientific discovery. A more realistic approach to the musculoskeletal system explores the action and use of muscles and muscle groups in daily activities, emphasizing gait and grip. "Bottom Line" boxes summarize information to facilitate ongoing review and underscore the big-picture viewpoint. Clinical Blue Box animations, case studies, and interactive multiple-choice questions online at thePoint.lww.com facilitate review and self-testing.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, Twenty-Sixth Edition by
The most practical, up-to-date guide available for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating child patients--from birth to adolescence The authoritative resource to pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 600 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values, it provides detailed descriptions of diseases, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and present all information in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis. NEW to this edition: Color insert for dermatology, ophthalmology, infectious disease, and other chapters Optimized digital edition for improved search
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics, 3rd by
One of the top-selling geriatrics guides in medicine, Current Diagnosis & Treatment:Geriatrics now covers the unique challenges clinicians are facing today,such as policies concerning special populations, care in collaboration with teams, and working within healthcare systems. Presented by a top-ranked group of internationally renowned experts, this concise and authoritative guide delivers everything you need to know about assessment, care, conditions, diseases, and symptoms of geriatric patients; provides a new focus on policy, society, and the global environment;and includes new chapters on assisted-living settings, HIV and aging, and aid in dying.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 by 
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination 11th by
The classic guide to the undifferentiated patient-enhanced by new cases Technological advances have taken testing and imaging to remarkable new places--yet establishing patient history and performing physical examinations are more important now than ever. This classic guide has been showing students and clinicians how to approach the diagnostic process thoughtfully and systematically for decades--and this revised edition brings you completely up to date. Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination provides the information and insights you need to make accurate, evidence-based diagnostic hypotheses. Covering all physical exam techniques and procedures, this updated edition shows how to collect clinical findings gleaned from the physical examination and synthesize them into a differential diagnosis. * Covers the latest developments in evidence-based physical examinations * Explains how to obtain a complete patient history and perform a thorough physical exam * Organized by signs, symptoms, and syndromes to make finding what you need quick and easy * Connects symptoms and signs with disease pathophysiology * Facilitates efficient, cost-effective diagnostic testing using focused differential diagnoses This classic guide continues to effectively combine current diagnostic practices with the unchanging aspects of clinical medicine.
The Exchange Strategy for Managing Conflict in Healthcare: How to Defuse Emotions and Create Solutions When the Stakes Are High by 
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology 8th by
More than 1,000 full-color photographs speed diagnosis of the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care One of the bestselling dermatology books in the world, this quick-reference clinical guide has virtually defined the field for thousands of physicians, dermatology residents, and medical students for more than three decades. Spanning the entire spectrum of skin problems, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Eighth Edition combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment. Features: * Approximately 1083 full-color images, with more than 40% new to this edition * A color-coded 4-part organization facilitates review at a glance and includes helpful icons denoting the incidence and morbidity of the disease * ICD-10 codes are included for each disease * Thoroughly updated coverage of etiology, pathogenesis, management, and therapy * Many images highlight skin disease in different ethnic populations If you've been looking for a unique combination text, clinical reference, and color atlas that spans the entire field of dermatology, and has been trusted by thousands of clinicians and students, your search ends here.
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology 26th by
The leading text on human physiology for more than four decades--enhanced by all new video tutorials For more than four decades, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong's concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review. Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology. * More than 600 full-color illustrations * Two types of review questions: end-of-chapter and board-style * NEW! Increased number of clinical cases and flow charts * NEW! Video tutorials from the author; high-yield Frequently Asked Question feature with detailed explanations; improved legends that eliminate the need to refer back to the text
Gartner and Hiatt's Atlas and Text of Histology by 
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by 
Guide to Clinical Documentation 3rd by
Learning objectives in each chapter to help you recognize important concepts at the beginning of the chapter, and reinforce what is summarized at the end of each chapter Coverage of -problem-oriented medical records, patients with multiple complaints or multiple conditions Hands-on, problem-based exercises Worksheets at the end of each chapter Examples of "good" and "bad" documentation for evaluation Real-life case studies that illustrate the potential consequences of poor or inaccurate documentation. Explanations of use and terminology of ICD-10-CM codes in billing Boxes highlighting medicolegal considerations.
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by 
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry 31st by
The Thirty-First Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry continues to emphasize the link between biochemistry and the understanding of disease states, disease pathology, and the practice of medicine. Featuring a full-color presentation and numerous medically relevant examples, Harper's presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals of biochemistry that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school. All 58 chapters help you understand the medical relevance of biochemistry: * Full-color presentation includes more than 600 illustrations * Case studies emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemistry * NEW CHAPTER on Biochemistry of Transition Metals addresses the importance and overall pervasiveness of transition metals * Review Questions follow each of the eleven sections * Boxed Objectives define the goals of each chapter * Tables encapsulate important information * Every chapter includes a section on the biomedical importance of a given topic NEW TO THIS EDITION: * Emphasis throughout on the integral relationship between biochemistry and disease, diagnostic pathology, and medical practice * Hundreds of references to disease states throughout * New chapter addressing the biochemical roles of transition metals * Many updated review questions * Frequent tables summarizing key links to disease states * New text on cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM) * Cover picture of the protein structure of the Zika virus, solved by cryo-EM Applauded by medical students and online reviewers for its currency and engaging style, Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry is essential for USMLE® review and the single-best reference for learning the clinical relevance of any biochemistry topic.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
The Voice of Clinical ReasonHarrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and epidemiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
Histology: A Text and Atlas: With Correlated Cell and Molecular Biology 8th by
Combining a reader-friendly textbook and a rich, full-color atlas, this bestselling resource equips medical, dental, health professions, and undergraduate biology and cell biology students with a comprehensive grasp of the clinical and functional correlates of histology and a vivid understanding of the structural and functional details of cells, tissues, and organs. Updated content throughout the text reflects the latest advances in cellular and molecular biology, accompanied by large, high-resolution illustrations and full-color photomicrographs that clarify microanatomy in vibrant detail. Ideal for integrated curriculums as well as standalone histology courses, this proven approach is accompanied by popular pedagogical features that distill complex information and help students save time. "Two-in-one" approach supplements clearly written chapters with dynamic atlas plates to enhance understanding at the point of learning. Updated content equips students with the most current, clinically relevant understanding of cellular and molecular biology. 435 high-resolution, full-color digital photomicrographs across more than 100 atlas plates clarify key structures. Updated full-color illustrations and clinical images refine students' understanding of microanatomy and cell and molecular biology in rich detail. Updated Histology "101" Notebook reviews summarize chapter content in a concise, notebook-style format preferred by students. Color-coded text highlights key terms and clinical information for fast, efficient reference. Boxed Clinical Correlation Folders familiarize students with conditions they may encounter on rotations during clerkship. Tables and bulleted text give quick access to staining techniques and other essential chapter details. Online USMLE-style multiple-choice review questions and clinical vignettes help students assess their understanding and prepare for board exams. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Integrative and Functional Medical Nutrition Therapy: Principles and Practices 1st by
This textbook is a practical guide to the application of the philosophy and principles of Integrative and Functional Medical Nutrition Therapy (IFMNT) in the practice of medicine, and the key role nutrition plays in restoring and maintaining wellness. The textbook provides an overview of recent reviews and studies of physiological and biochemical contributions to IFMNT and address nutritional influences in human heath overall, including poor nutrition, genomics, environmental toxicant exposures, fractured human interactions, limited physical movement, stress, sleep deprivation, and other lifestyle factors. Ultimately, this textbook serves to help practitioners, healthcare systems, and policy makers better understand this different and novel approach to complex chronic disorders. It provides the reader with real world examples of applications of the underlying principles and practices of integrative/functional nutrition therapies and presents the most up-to-date intervention strategies and clinical tools to help the reader keep abreast of developments in this emerging specialty field. Many chapters include comprehensive coverage of the topic and clinical applications with supplementary learning features such as case studies, take-home messages, patient and practitioner handouts, algorithms, and suggested readings. Integrative and Functional Medical Nutrition Therapy: Principles and Practices will serve as an invaluable guide for healthcare professionals in their clinical application of nutrition, lifestyle assessment, and intervention for each unique, individual patient.
Integrative Medicine by
Integrative Medicine, by Dr. David Rakel, provides the practical, evidence-based guidance you need to safely and effectively integrate complementary and alternative medical treatments into your practice. This medical reference book lays the framework for making the best use of these therapeutic modalities and understanding the mechanisms by which these interventions work, keeping you at the forefront of the trend toward integrative health care. Incorporate therapeutic integrative medicine modalities into clinical practice through the "Tools for Your Practice" section that offers how-to application for recommending mediation, prescribing probiotics, and how to do an elimination diet. Apply integrative treatments for a full range of diseases and conditions including autism, stroke, chronic fatigue syndrome, and various forms of cancer...see how to advise patients on health maintenance and wellness...and get valuable advice on topics such as meditation, diet, and exercises for back pain. Avoid potential complications with recommended dosages and precautions. Enhance patient care with therapy-based guidance and printable patient education guides. Implement proven integrative treatments for various diseases thanks to an evidence-based therapeutic approach. Weigh the likely effectiveness of various treatments vs. their potential harm with helpful icons based on the SORT (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) method. Validate potential interventions through the latest research in genomics and advanced imaging technologies, such as MRI. Access the full text, image bank, downloadable Patient Education Guides, and video collections online at www.expertconsult.com. Rakel provides evidence-based guidance to apply integrative medicine in clinical care.
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas 16th by
This user-friendly text and atlas combination is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to elucidate key concepts and facilitate learning For more than four decades, this trusted classic has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, Junqueiras Basic Histology provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology; it provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. It covers all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more. Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's explains how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems. Each chapter includes multiple-choice self-test questions enabling readers to assess their comprehension of important material; some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology--and there is nothing else like it. Features: Self-test questions in every chapter Key points and summary tables highlight key content Clinical correlations presented with each topic Illustrations depict key aspects of cell biology and histology Electron and light micrographs deliver a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures Valuable appendix explains light microscopy stains Lab manual alerts readers to see what they are actually reading about in real-life patients; enhanced lab manual available online Links to Junqueira micrographs
Langman's Medical Embryology by 
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry 8th by
This text follows an intuitive outline organization and boasts a wealth of study aids that clarify challenging information and strengthen retention and understanding. This updated and revised edition emphasizes clinical application and features new exercises, questions, and accompanying digital resources to ready students for success on exams and beyond. NEW! Clinical Application boxes train students to confidently apply biochemistry in clinical scenarios. NEW! Cross-references to other Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews titles help students grasp how biochemical concepts relate to other basic sciences. UPDATED! Vibrant illustrations and detailed tables clarify complex biochemical concepts. NEW and UPDATED! Study Questions and Answers for each chapter test students' retention and strengthen their test-taking confidence. UPDATED! Integrative Case Studies with Review Questions familiarize students with commonly encountered clinical scenarios and alert them to potential widespread implications of presenting issues. NEW! Animations enhance students' understanding of biochemical concepts and processes with vivid detail and accuracy. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, video tutorials, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Pharmacology 7th by
Students' favorite review resource for studying the essentials of medical pharmacology, Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Pharmacology , Seventh Edition, presents up-to-date drug information in an accessible format ideal for a fast, effective refresher. Part of the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews series, this concise resource features clear, effective writing and hundreds of illustrations that break down complex information for rapid review. Sequential images present mechanisms of action and focus on showing rather than telling students how drugs work, and review questions with answers deliver powerful, practical exam preparation. Updated drug information reflects the most current, clinically relevant pharmacology material. Approachable outline format distills complex information for easier review. High-quality illustrations reinforce understanding in vibrant detail. Enhanced review questions with answers test students' understanding and identify areas for further study. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Physiology 2nd by
Enhanced by a new chapter, new illustrations, and new Q&As, Lippincott ® Illustrated Reviews: Physiology, Second Edition brings physiology clearly into focus, telling the story of who we are; how we live; and, ultimately, how we die. By first identifying organ function and then showing how cells and tissues are designed to fulfill that function, this resource decodes physiology like no other text or review book. Tailored for ease of use and fast content absorption, the book's outline format, visionary artwork, clinical applications, and unit review questions help students master the most essential concepts in physiology, making it perfect for classroom learning and test and boards preparation. A new chapter on erythropoiesis and blood gas transport provides critical information on this key topic. New content on the impact of normal aging on organ function brings the book thoroughly up to date. Review questions with explanations for each system help prepare students for course and board examinations. More than 600 annotated, full-color illustrations--including more than 20 new to this edition--guide readers step by step through complex processes. Overviews and Chapter Summaries set clear goals for topic mastery and reemphasize essential concepts in a coherent framework. Clinical Applications boxes and clinical images encourage readers to apply their knowledge, taking them from the classroom to the bedside. Margin Example Equation boxes and in-text boxes highlight memorable information and keep physiology in a real-world context. Five online animations explain complex concepts in a memorable way. A consistent outline format makes critical information easy to access and assimilate. Cross references and Infolinks to topics are keyed to page headers to expedite location and are also provided for topics in other books in the Lippincott ® Illustrated Reviews series to help students develop an interdisciplinary grasp of key concepts. Unit-review questions in board-review style test understanding of fundamental concepts as well as the students' ability to draw connections among multiple organ systems. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Manual of Healthcare Leadership - Essential Strategies for Physician and Administrative Leaders by 
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics 8th by
Part of the highly regarded Nelson family of pediatric references, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 8th Edition, is a concise, focused resource for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners. Ideal for pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams, this 8th Edition offers a readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and new features that make it even more user-friendly for today's in-training professionals or practitioners. Focuses on the core knowledge you need to know, while also providing complete coverage of recent advances in pediatrics. Coverage includes normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Includes new Pearls for Practitioners bullets at the end of each section, providing key clinical points and treatment information. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Includes Student Consult access which features the full contents of the book, now integrated with select decision-making algorithms from Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies by Pomeranz et al. (ISBN: 978-0-323-29854-4), online at Student Consult.
Physician Assistant: a Guide to Clinical Practice by
Prepare for every stage of your physician assistant career with Physician Assistant: A Guide to Clinical Practice, 5th Edition - the one text that takes you from your PA coursework through clinical practice! Concise, easy to read, and highly visual, this all-in-one resource by Ruth Ballweg, Edward M. Sullivan, Darwin Brown, and Daniel Vetrosky delivers the current, practical guidance you need to know to succeed in any setting. Master all the core competencies you need to know for certification or recertification. Access the entire text and illustrations online at www.expertconsult.com. Navigate today's professional challenges with new chapters on NCCPA Specialty Recognition; Communication Issues; the Electronic Health Record; Patient Safety and Quality of Care; Population-Based Practice; and Physician Assistants and Supervision. Meet ARC-PA accreditation requirements with coverage of key topics such as Student Safety in Clinical Settings, Health Care Delivery Systems, Population-Based Practice, and Mass Casualties/Disasters. Keep up with the PA competencies that are endorsed by the AAPA, PAEA, NCCPA, and ARC-PA. Master key concepts and clinical applications thanks to a succinct, bulleted writing style; convenient tables; practical case studies; and clinical application questions throughout. Retain what you've learned and easily visualize every aspect of clinical practice with a new full-color design and illustrations throughout. Explore global options with expanded coverage of physician assistants in international medicine. Your purchase entitles you to access the website until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the website be discontinued.
Principles of Medical Biochemistry 4th by
For nearly 30 years, Principles of Medical Biochemistry has integrated medical biochemistry with molecular genetics, cell biology, and genetics to provide complete yet concise coverage that links biochemistry with clinical medicine. The 4th Edition of this award-winning text by Drs. Gerhard Meisenberg and William H. Simmons has been fully updated with new clinical examples, expanded coverage of recent changes in the field, and many new case studies online. A highly visual format helps readers retain complex information, and USMLE-style questions (in print and online) assist with exam preparation. Just the right amount of detail on biochemistry, cell biology, and genetics - in one easy-to-digest textbook. Full-color illustrations and tables throughout help students master challenging concepts more easily. Online case studies serve as a self-assessment and review tool before exams. Glossary of technical terms, both in print and online. Clinical Boxes and Clinical Content demonstrate the integration of basic sciences and clinical applications, helping readers make connections between the two. New clinical examples have been added throughout the text. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text, images, and references from the book.
Rapid Interpretation of EKG's 6th by
The reader's rapid assimilation of medical concepts is the key to the continuing success of this best-selling book. A caption explains the concept illustrated on each page, and a few simple sentences reinforce the concept with interactive (programmed) learning, which links to the following page. Dr Dubin's light and entertaining style, known world-wide, makes learning enjoyable. Practice twelve-lead tracings at the end establish self-confidence, and summarised reference sheets with examples (designed to be copied) provide an excellent review. Most recently updated in February 2006.
Robbins Basic Pathology 10th by
Robbins Basic Pathology provides a readable, well-illustrated and concise overview of the principles of human pathology that's ideal for today's busy students. This thoroughly revised edition continues with a strong emphasis on pathogenesis and the clinical features of disease, adding new artwork and more schematic diagrams to further aid in summarizing key pathologic processes and expand the already impressive illustration program. Excellent art program boasts high-quality photomicrographs, gross photos, and radiologic images to supplement the world-class illustrations. Bulleted summary boxes provide quick access to key information and easy review of key concepts. Highlights pathogenesis, morphology, and pathophysiologic content throughout. Includes increased and updated clinical topics. New artwork and more schematic diagrams summarize key pathologic processes. An all-star editorial team enables you to gain a rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and images from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also access virtual microscope slides, self-assessment questions, additional images, updated pathology case studies, and Targeted Therapy boxes.
Rubin's Pathology: Mechanisms of Human Disease 8th by
With a simple approach to essential information, Rubin's Pathology: Mechanisms of Human Disease; establishes the foundation for medical training and practice and delivers the perfect balance of basic pathology and bedside perspective to confidently and efficiently equip students for clinical success. More accessible than ever, this eighth edition emphasizes the coverage students need most--disease mechanisms, integration of mechanisms into organ system pathology, and application of pathobiology to diagnostic medicine--in an approachable format with systems-based instruction techniques in mind. Comprehensively revised and updated content reflects the latest approaches to pathology from global leaders in the field and ensures a clinically relevant understanding of key pathology competencies. Comprehensively revised coverage simplifies the essentials of pathology and ensures a clinically relevant understanding of key competencies and techniques. Updated content reflects the international expertise of some of the most innovative authorities on pathology. New systems-based instruction approach ensures a practical understanding of essential techniques. Approachable format makes learning engaging and efficient. More than 1700 images--line drawings, micrographs, and gross pathology images--clarify concepts in stunning detail. Bolded key terms and bulleted lists reinforce important information at a glance. Online resources provide instant access to 29 virtual microscopy videos narrated by Dr. Emanuel Rubin, cases, and suggested readings. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
Skeletal Imaging: Atlas of the Spine and Extremities 2nd by
Use this atlas to accurately interpret images of musculoskeletal disorders! Taylor, Hughes, and Resnick's Skeletal Imaging: Atlas of the Spine and Extremities, 2nd Edition covers each anatomic region separately, so common disorders are shown within the context of each region. This allows you to examine and compare images for a variety of different disorders. A separate chapter is devoted to each body region, with coverage of normal developmental anatomy, developmental anomalies and normal variations, and how to avoid a misdiagnosis by differentiating between disorders that appear to be similar. All of the most frequently encountered musculoskeletal conditions are included, from physical injuries to tumors to infectious diseases. Over 2,100 images include radiographs, radionuclide studies, CT scans, and MR images, illustrating pathologies and comparing them with other disorders in the same region. Organization by anatomic region addresses common afflictions for each region in separate chapters, so you can see how a particular region looks when affected by one condition as compared to its appearance with other conditions. Coverage of each body region includes normal developmental anatomy, fractures, deformities, dislocations, infections, hematologic disorders, and more. Normal Developmental Anatomy sections open each chapter, describing important developmental landmarks in various regions of the body from birth to skeletal maturity. Practical tables provide a quick reference to essential information, including normal developmental anatomic milestones, developmental anomalies, common presentations and symptoms of diseases, and much more. 400 new and replacement images are added to the book, showing a wider variety of pathologies. More MR imaging is added to each chapter. Up-to-date research includes the latest on scientific advances in imaging. References are completely updated with new information and evidence.
Symptom to Diagnosis an Evidence Based Guide, Fourth Edition by 
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide 9th by
The definitive survey of diagnostic dermatopathology -- and the single-best resource for addressing differential diagnosis at the microscopic level For virtually every kind of skin lesion, this skill-sharpening resource has everything clinicians need to successfully perform differential diagnosis at the microscopic level. Barnhill's Dermatopathology features a systematic, algorithmic approach that cuts through the complexity of the discipline's traditional disease-oriented focus, providing a ready-to-use diagnostic tool that puts the entire world of dermatopathology into perspective. This classic has won acclaim as the only dermatology pathology resource that is valuable for both teaching and for clinical practice and differential diagnosis. While other references may be more exhaustive, denser, or larger, none are more clinically useful as Barnhill's Dermatopathology. With 25% of the dermatology board and recertification examination consisting of dermatopathology topics, this is also an outstanding board review tool. Filled with hundreds of color photomicrographs, the book features a clear five-part organization and nearly forty detailed chapters--each reflecting the scientifically rigorous, up-to-date insights of authors who are acknowledged experts in the field. The book's vast scope encompasses all skin disease processes--inflammatory, non-inflammatory, infections, and proliferations (harmatomas, hyperplasias, and neoplasms, plus disorders of nails and oral mucosa). *Includes Online Bonus Content *Increased number of full-color images *Numerous tables assist clinicians differentiate similar conditions from one another *NEW CHAPTERS on laboratory methods and stains, and updated immunohistochemistry content
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide by 
Weir and Abrahams' Imaging Atlas of Human Anatomy 5th by
The perfect up-to-date imaging guide for a complete and 3-dimensional understanding of applied human anatomy Imaging is ever more integral to anatomy education and throughout modern medicine. Building on the success of previous editions, this fully revised sixth edition provides a superb foundation for understanding applied human anatomy, offering a complete view of the structures and relationships within the whole body, using the very latest imaging techniques. All relevant imaging modalities are included, from plain radiographs to more advanced imaging of ultrasound, CT, MRI, functional imaging and angiography. Coverage is further enhanced by a carefully selected range of BONUS electronic content, including clinical photos and cases, ultrasound videos, labelled radiograph 'slidelines', cross-sectional imaging stacks and test-yourself materials. Uniquely, key syllabus image sets are now highlighted throughout to aid efficient study, as well as the most common, clinically important anatomical variants that you should be aware of. This superb package is ideally suited to the needs of medical students, as well as radiologists, radiographers and surgeons in training. It will also prove invaluable to the range of other students and professionals who require a clear, accurate, view of anatomy in current practice. Fully revised legends and labels and new high-quality images-featuring the latest imaging techniques and modalities as seen in clinical practice Covers the full variety of relevant modern imaging-including cross-sectional views in CT and MRI, angiography, ultrasound, fetal anatomy, plain film anatomy, nuclear medicine imaging and more - with better resolution to ensure the clearest anatomical views Core syllabus image sets now highlighted throughout-to help you focus on the most essential areas to excel on your course and in examinations Unique summaries of the most common, clinically important anatomical variants for each body region-reflects the fact that around 20% of human bodies have at least one clinically significant variant New orientation drawings-to help you understand the different views and the 3D anatomy of 2D images, as well as the conventions between cross-sectional modalities Ideal as a stand-alone resource or in conjunction with Abrahams' and McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy-where new links help put imaging in the context of the dissection room Now a more complete learning package than ever before, with superb BONUS electronic enhancements embedded within the accompanying eBook, including: Labelled image 'stacks'-that allow you to review cross-sectional imaging as if using an imaging workstation Labelled image 'slidelines'-showing features in a full range of body radiographs to enhance understanding of anatomy in this essential modality Self-test image 'slideshows' with multi-tier labelling-to aid learning and cater for beginner to more advanced experience levels Labelled ultrasound videos-bring images to life, reflecting this increasingly clinically practiced technique Questions and answers accompany each chapter-to test your understanding and aid exam preparation 34 pathology tutorials-based around nine key concepts and illustrated with hundreds of additional pathology images, to further develop your memory of anatomical structures and lead you through the essential relationships between normal and abnormal anatomy High-yield USMLE topics-clinical photos and cases for key topics, linked and highlighted in chapters
Williams' Basic Nutrition and Diet Therapy 15th by
For concise, need-to-know coverage of the most up-to-date topics and research in nutritional care turn to Williams' Basic Nutrition & Diet Therapy, 15th Edition. This market leading text provides coverage of hot topics, emerging trends, and cutting-edge research, plus all the essentials for providing the best nutrition care. And with its conversational writing style, vivid illustrations, and wide array of reader-friendly features you can easily understand how the concepts in the book can be applied in clinical practice. Case studies with accompanying questions for analysis in the clinical care chapters focus your attention on related patient care problems. Cultural Considerations boxes discuss how a patient's culture can affect nutritional concepts in practice. Clinical Applications and For Further Focus boxes highlight timely topics and analyze concepts and trends in depth. Bulleted chapter summaries review highlights from the chapter and help you see how the chapter contributes to the book's "big picture." Diet therapy guidelines include recommendations, restrictions, and sample diets for major clinical conditions. Drug-Nutrient Interactions boxes highlight important safety information and cover topics such as nutritional supplements for athletics, drugs interfering with vitamin absorption, and over-the-counter weight loss aids. Key terms and definitions clarify terminology and concepts critical to your understanding and application of the material. NEW! Completely updated content incorporate the recently released 2015 dietary guidelines, Healthy People objectives, nutrition labels, common weight-loss diets, FDA/CDC statistics/warnings regarding trans fatty acids, disordered eating, and more. NEW! New chapter review questions reflect the latest NCLEX Exam format. Answers to these questions will appear in the appendix. NEW! Rewritten chapters on clinical nutrition take a more application-based approach and feature clarified explanations, enhanced readability, a focus on the most relevant and practical information, and new topics such as energy expenditure calculations, water balance, cirrhosis complications, diet plans for diabetes, and more. NEW! Updated Nutrition and Physical Fitness chapter written by sport dietitian Kary Woodruff reflects the latest research in the field, including new questionnaires used for exercise readiness, current recommendations for energy needs, and nutritional considerations for athletic performance. NEW! Updated Weight Management chapter written by certified adult weight management dietitian Theresa Dvorak reflects the latest research in the field, including the role of genetics, disordered eating, treatments for obesity, and more.
Women's Health Across the Lifespan, 2e by 
|
DynaMed
|
EBSCO Mobile
|
Complete Anatomy
|
Kahoot!
|
|
Canvas
|
Examplify
|
Draw it to Know it
|
Access Medicine
|
