It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learning Resource Center (LRC), Fall2020: Doctor of Chiropractic (DC)
The term "Chiropractic" combines the Greek words cheir (hand) and praxis (practice) to describe a treatment done by hand. Hands-on therapy - especially adjustments of the spine - is central to chiropractic care. Chiropractic is based on the notion that the relationship between the body's structure (primarily that of the spine) and its function (as coordinated by the nervous system) affects health.
Spinal adjustment/manipulation is core treatment in chiropractic care, but it is not synonymous with chiropractic. Chiropractors commonly use other treatments in addition to spinal manipulation, and other health care providers (e.g., physical therapists or some osteopathic physicians) may use spinal manipulation.
Chiropractic: In Depth. (2016, June 20). Retrieved August 02, 2017, from https://nccih.nih.gov/health/chiropractic/introduction.htm
This research guide is a support tool for locating and finding information pertaining to chiropractic medicine courses.
Sports medicine is an area of medical practice concerned with the treatment of injuries resulting from athletic activities. A physician practicing sports medicine focuses on sports-related medical services. This may include preventative measures such as conditioning and injury prevention, as well as treatments such as osteopathic manipulation, rehabilitation, or injections.
Sports Medicine. (n.d.) Retrieved August 2, 2017, from https://www.spine-health.com/glossary/sports-medicine.
This research guide is a support tool for locating and finding information pertaining to chiropractic-sports medicine courses.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. BickleyPerform an accurate, efficient, and effective physical examination with confidence. Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking provides authoritative, step-by-step guidance on performing the patient interview and physical examination, applying clinical reasoning, shared decision-making, and other core assessment skills--all based on a firm understanding of clinical evidence. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format featuring examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. Bates' also includes a unit on special populations, covering special stages in the life cycle--infancy through adolescence, pregnancy, and aging. Clinical pearls , printed in blue, highlight key points throughout the text. Text boxes help readers quickly find important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Many new and updated photographs and illustrations support the text, and figures are now numbered for easy identification and reference. Rewritten chapter on evaluating clinical evidence clarifies key concepts to ensure student understanding. Revised and expanded chapter on the skin, hair, and nails includes new dermatology photographs and provides the framework for assessing common lesions and abnormalities. Updated behavior and mental status chapter now references DSM-5 . Significantly revised information on obesity and nutrition counseling; cardiovascular risk factor screening and new clinical guidelines; new screening guidelines for breast cancer, colon cancer, Papanicolau smears, and stroke risk factors; updated information on STIs; new geriatric assessment tools; and much more. New life cycle content , including an increased emphasis on cardiovascular health promotion and child development; updated pregnancy topics such as weight gain, substance abuse, and intimate partner violence; and new information on the older adult, including frailty, immunizations, cancer screening, cognitive decline and dementia screening, and a new algorithm for falls prevention. Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking is the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance on mastering every aspect of the all-important physical examination. Don't Miss These Additional Resources also Available for Purchase: Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Eighth Edition The Pocket Guide is an abbreviated version of the Bates' twelfth edition textbook, designed for portability and convenience at the bedside. Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination (www.batesvisualguide.com) Recently refilmed, these 18 volumes of examination videos (as well as 10 additional OSCEs) depict experienced clinicians conducting each of the regional examinations. The videos demonstrate visually the varying techniques of inspection, palpation, percussion, and auscultation in the regional examinations and special populations.
Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Before We Are Born by Keith L. Moore; T. V. N. Persaud; Mark G. TorchiaAs the study of embryology continues to be integrated with a range of disciplines, Before We Are Born remains the ideal solution for students who need to quickly learn the basics. Fully updated by the world's foremost embryologists, this medical reference book provides concise guidance on human embryology at every stage of development, utilizing rich illustrations and photographs designed to further explain content. Understand all of the latest advances in embryology, including normal and abnormal embryogenesis, causes of birth defects, and the role of genes in human development. See how discoveries in molecular biology have affected clinical practice, including the development of sophisticated new techniques such as recumbent DNA technology and stem cell manipulation. Prepare for the USMLE Step 1 with clinical case presentations, highlighted in special boxes, which demonstrate how embryology concepts relate to clinical practice. Quickly review just the embryology information you need to know, masterfully distilled from the popular book The Developing Human, written by the same author team. Understand the complex concepts inherent in embryology with help from streamlined content, didactic illustrations, and clinical photos. Test your knowledge with brand-new review questions at the end of each chapter. Searchable, portable, shareable, and perpetual, this Student Consult title offers enhanced features that allow you to interact with your content like never before.
Publication Date: 2015-01-21
Chiropractic Technique by Thomas F. Bergmann; David H. PetersonGeneral overview of the chiropractic profession -- Joint anatomy and basic biomechanics -- Joint assessment principles and procedures -- Principles of adjustive technique -- The spine : anatomy, biomechanics, assessment, and adjustive techniques -- Extraspinal techniques -- Nonthrust procedures : mobilization, traction, and soft tissue techniques.
Call Number: WB 905.9 B499c 2011
Publication Date: 2010-05-28
Clinical Anatomy of the Spine, Spinal Cord, and ANS by Gregory D. Cramer; Susan A. DarbyWith its unique clinical perspective and evidence-based coverage, Clinical Anatomy of the Spine, Spinal Cord, and ANS is the definitive reference for applying anatomic considerations to the evaluation and management of conditions of the spine and associated neural structures, including spinal impingement and subluxation. High-quality color illustrations and photographs, as well as abundant radiographs, CT, and MRI images, visually demonstrate specific anatomic and neuromusculoskeletal relationships and highlight structures that may be affected by manual and surgical spinal techniques or other diagnostic and therapeutic procedures.
Call Number: WL 400 C889b 2014
Publication Date: 2013-02-18
Clinically Oriented Anatomy by Keith L. Moore; Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. DalleyThe world's most trusted clinically focused anatomy text! Renowned for comprehensive coverage, the best-selling Clinically Oriented Anatomy guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. The eighth edition reflects significant new information and updates and maintains the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. Comprehensive updates reflect changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as new imaging technologies, focusing on the anatomy that students need to know. Extensively revised "Clinical Blue Boxes" explore the practical applications of anatomy, and helpful icons distinguish the type of clinical information covered in each. Clinically relevant anatomy focuses on physical diagnosis, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, with updates throughout , make this book an aesthetically rewarding learning resource. Combined with many photographs and medical images, these stunning visuals facilitate comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. New and updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Expanded "Overview and Basic Concepts" chapter includes functional systemic anatomy summaries and introduces approaches to studying anatomy, terminology, imaging, and more. Inclusion of new sections describing the enteric nervous system (considered by some as a "second brain") and its unique role in the innervation of the digestive system gives students cutting-edge insight into this significant scientific discovery. A more realistic approach to the musculoskeletal system explores the action and use of muscles and muscle groups in daily activities, emphasizing gait and grip. "Bottom Line" boxes summarize information to facilitate ongoing review and underscore the big-picture viewpoint. Clinical Blue Box animations, case studies, and interactive multiple-choice questions online at thePoint.lww.com facilitate review and self-testing.
Publication Date: 2017-09-13
Clinical Neuroanatomy, Twentyninth Edition by Stephen G. WaxmanPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A comprehensive, color-illustrated guide to neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical applications Engagingly written and extensively illustrated, Clinical Neuroanatomy, Twenty-Ninth Edition gets you up to speed on neuroanatomy, its functional underpinnings, and its relationship to the clinic. You'll learn everything you need to know about the structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves. This authoritative guide illustrates clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures, explores the relationship between neuroanatomy and neurology, and reviews advances in molecular and cellular biology and neuropharmacology as related to neuroanatomy. The book is packed with case studies and hundreds of visuals--including CT and MRI scans, block diagrams showing muscle actions, root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve images of sensory areas and muscle intervention, and more--to help you retain critical information. Essential for board review or as a clinical refresher, Clinical Neuroanatomy features: * More than 300 full-color illustrations * An introduction to clinical thinking that puts neuroanatomy in clear clinical perspective * A discussion of the latest advances in molecular biology and cellular biology in the context of neuroanatomy * Numerous CT and MRI scans * Block diagrams illustrating actions of each muscle (essential for the clinical motor examination) * Hundreds of diagrams and tables encapsulating important information * Summary listings at the end of each chapter * Clear and memorable root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve illustrations of sensory areas and muscle intervention * Coverage of the basic structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves as well as clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures * Appendices including The Neurologic Examination, Testing Muscle Function, Spinal Nerves and Plexuses, and Questions and Answers * Case studies demonstrating how concepts apply to real-world clinical situations * All the must-know concepts, facts, and structures, and more * A complete practice exam to assess your knowledge
Publication Date: 2020-05-25
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2020 by Stephen J. McPhee; Michael W. Rabow; Maxine A. PapadakisPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The #1 annually updated general medical text - delivering the diagnostic tools most relevant to daily practice CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment is the most comprehensive, reliable, and timely reference available to answer common questions that arise in everyday clinical practice. Readers will find authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment. Written in a clear, easy-to-read style, this trusted classic covers all aspects of outpatient and inpatient care, and also includes discussion of new developments and breakthroughs in medicine. Presented in full color, CMDT covers every aspect of general medicine, with an emphasis on prevention and cost-effective strategies. * Market: Internal medicine practitioners (77,000), family physicians (74,000), internal medicine residents (23,000), family medicine residents (8,000), nurse practitioners (100,000), physician assistants (34,000), medical students (70,000), nurse practitioner students (5,500/yr), physician assistant students (3,000/yr.) * Up-to-date references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information * The only text with an annual review of the advances made in HIV treatment * Detailed overview of other primary care topics, from gynecology, orthopedics and dermatology to ophthalmology, psychiatry, and neurology * Updated throughout with the latest breakthroughs and developments, guidelines, references, drug prices, approved drugs, and more * Includes acclaimed online content
Publication Date: 2019-09-02
Differential Diagnosis and Management for the Chiropractor by Thomas A. Souza; Aruna D'SouzaThe Fifth Edition of this best-selling reference is a compendium of evidence-based approaches to the most common presenting complaints. Covering both musculoskeletal and visceral complaints, this text is intended to direct the chiropractor toward an appropriate plan of approach in both diagnostic evaluation and care. Highlighting these approaches are flowcharts (algorithms), relevant historical questioning, and summaries of common conditions related to the presenting complaint.
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas, 8th Ed by Klaus Wolff; Richard Allen Johnson; Arturo P. Saavedra; Ellen K. RohPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. INCLUDES DOWNLOADABLE VIDEOS AVAILABLE AT: mhprofessional.com/mediacenter A Doody's Core Title for 2019! More than 1,000 full-color photographs speed diagnosis of the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care One of the bestselling dermatology books in the world, this quick-reference clinical guide has virtually defined the field for thousands of physicians, dermatology residents, and medical students for more than three decades. Spanning the entire spectrum of skin problems, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Eighth Edition combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment. Features: * Approximately 1083 full-color images, with more than 40% new to this edition * A color-coded 4-part organization facilitates review at a glance and includes helpful icons denoting the incidence and morbidity of the disease * ICD-10 codes are included for each disease * Thoroughly updated coverage of etiology, pathogenesis, management, and therapy * Many images highlight skin disease in different ethnic populations If you've been looking for a unique combination text, clinical reference, and color atlas that spans the entire field of dermatology, and has been trusted by thousands of clinicians and students, your search ends here.
Publication Date: 2017-03-15
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley IIFor more than seventy-five years, Grant's Atlas of Anatomy has maintained a tradition of excellence while continually adapting to meet the needs of each generation of students. The updated fifteenth edition is a visually stunning reference that delivers the accuracy, pedagogy, and clinical relevance expected of this classic atlas, with new and enhanced features that make it even more practical and user-friendly. Illustrations drawn from real specimens, presented in surface-to-deep dissection sequence, set Grant's Atlas of Anatomy apart as the most accurate reference available for learning human anatomy. These realistic representations bring structures to life and provide students with the ultimate lab resource. NEW Illustration overviews highlight the autonomic nerves to clarify nerve and muscle innervations. NEW and updated images reflect the latest clinical insights through: 15 NEW Illustrations 160 revised figures NEW and updated surface anatomy images NEW pulses photos Renowned, high-resolution, dynamically colored illustrations organized in dissection sequence enable the formation of 3-D constructs for each body region and provide detailed, realistic reference during dissection. Tables detail muscles, vessels, and other anatomic information in an easy-to-use format ideal for review and study. Enhanced medical imaging includes more than 100 clinically significant MRIs, CT images, ultrasound scans, and corresponding orientation drawings to help students confidently apply the laboratory experience to clinical rotations. Color schematic illustrations reinforce the relationships of structures and anatomical concepts in vibrant detail.
Publication Date: 2020-04-15
Grant's Dissector by Alan J. DettonGrant's Dissector, Seventeenth Edition provides step-by-step human cadaver dissection procedures for students to perform in the anatomy lab and to recognize important relationships revealed through dissection. More informative and approachable than ever, this updated seventeenth edition broadens students' understanding of key dissection procedures and readies them for success in healthcare practice. Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a Dissection Overview that provides a blueprint of what needs to be accomplished during the dissection session and includes relevant surface anatomy. Dissection Instructions offer a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. The Dissection Follow-up emphasizes important features of the dissection and encourages students to reflect on and synthesize the information. New and revised illustrations, including new surface landmark illustrations, strengthen students' grasp of common dissection procedures. New chapter introductions focus students' attention on relevant Clinical Correlations. Reorganized Skeletal and Surface Anatomy sections guide students logically from palpating bony structures to making skin incisions. Enhanced and streamlined cross-references reinforce understanding with direct links to related content in Grant's Atlas of Anatomy as well as Grant's Dissection Videos. Dissection Overviews guide students through relevant surface anatomy and osteology. Numbered, step-by-step Dissection Instructions clarify procedures and enhance the dissection experience. Full-color illustrations improve students' accuracy and precision from initial incisions through deeper dissections. Clinical Correlation boxes place procedures in a clinical context to ready students for healthcare practice.
Publication Date: 2020-03-14
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by John E. HallThe 13th edition of Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology continues this bestselling title's long tradition as the world's foremost medical physiology textbook. Unlike other textbooks on this topic, this clear and comprehensive guide has a consistent, single-author voice and focuses on the content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students. The detailed but lucid text is complemented by didactic illustrations that summarize key concepts in physiology and pathophysiology. Larger font size emphasizes core information around how the body must maintain homeostasis in order to remain healthy, while supporting information and examples are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue. Summary figures and tables help quickly convey key processes covered in the text. Bold full-color drawings and diagrams. Short, easy-to-read, masterfully edited chapters and a user-friendly full-color design. Brand-new quick-reference chart of normal lab values on the inside back cover. Increased number of figures, clinical correlations, and cellular and molecular mechanisms important for clinical medicine. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes the complete text, interactive figures, references, plus 50 self-assessment questions and more than a dozen animations.
Publication Date: 2015-05-20
Joint Structure and Function by Pamela K. Levangie; Cynthia C. NorkinPrepares you to evaluate and treat human movement disorders with lucid discussions of biomechanics, joint structure, connective tissue behavior, and muscle physiology. Features an evidence-based approach that applies current research to illustrate and prepares you for the complexity that evidence-based content brings to practice. Focuseson the continuum of normal structure and function to show how deviations from normal may create or underlie disordered movement or dysfunction. Enhances your comprehension of content with end-of-chapter questions. Illustrates real-world application using Patient Cases and Case Application that show you WHY they need to understand the principles presented and the close link between normal and abnormal musculoskeletal function. Highlights key points with Concept Cornerstone boxes and periodic summaries. Promotes critical thinking on controversial topics through Continuing Exploration boxes.
Publication Date: 2011-03-09
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Fifteenth Edition by Anthony MescherPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The text that has defined histology for generations--concise, clear, beautifully illustrated, and better than ever A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For more than four decades, Junqueira's Basic Histology has built a global reputation as the most accessible, yet comprehensive overview of human tissue structure and function available. This trusted classic delivers a well-organized and concise presentation of cell biology and histology that integrates the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology, and provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology - and there is nothing else like it. FEATURES * Electron and light micrographs comprise a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures * NEW! Each chapter now includes a set of multiple-choice self-test questions that allow you to assess your comprehension of important material, with some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance * Summary of Key Points and Summary Tables highlight what is important and present it in a way that makes it memorable * Streamlined page design --including concise, high-yield paragraphs; bullets; and bolded key terms * Acclaimed art and other figures facilitate learning and visualization of key aspects of cell biology and histology * A cohesive organization examines how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems * Clinical Correlations presented with each topic * All-inclusive coverage encompasses all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more * Valuable appendix on light microscopy stains clearly explains this need-to-know staining technique
Publication Date: 2018-08-09
Kinesiology of the Musculoskeletal System by Donald A. NeumannWith its focus on the normal and abnormal mechanical interactions between the muscles and joints of the body, Kinesiology of the Musculoskeletal System: Foundations for Rehabilitation, 3rd Edition provides a foundation for the practice of physical rehabilitation. This comprehensive, research-based core text presents kinesiology as it relates to physical rehabilitation in a clinically relevant and accessible manner. It provides students and clinicians with the language of human movement - and acts as a bridge between basic science and clinical management. Full-color anatomic and kinesiologic illustrations clearly demonstrate the anatomy, functional movement, and biomechanical principles underlying movement; and dynamic new video clips help you interpret new concepts with visual demonstration. More than 900 high-quality illustrations provide you with the visual accompaniments you need to comprehend the material. Clinical Connections boxes at the end of each chapter in Sections II through IV highlight or expand upon a particular clinical concept associated with the kinesiology covered in the chapter. Special Focus boxes interspersed throughout the text provide numerous clinical examples that demonstrate why kinesiologic information is needed. Critical thinking questions challenge you to review or reinforce the main concepts contained within each chapter. Evidence-based approach emphasizes the importance of research in physical therapy decision-making. Evolve site for students comes with video clips, answers to study questions, and references linked to Medline. Evolve site for instructors includes an image collection from the text, teaching tips, and lab activities. NEW! Kinesiology of Running chapter covers the biomechanics of running. NEW! Video clips help you interpret new concepts with visual demonstration. NEW! All-new content on the pelvic floor. NEW! Thoroughly updated references emphasize the evidence-based presentation of information in the text. NEW! QR codes linked to videos for easy viewing on mobile devices. NEW! Pageburst enhanced edition allows you to access multimedia content from the eBook without going to another website.
Publication Date: 2016-10-28
Langman's Medical Embryology by T. W. SadlerVibrantly illustrated with full-color diagrams and clinical images, Langman's Medical Embryology , 14th Edition helps medical, nursing, and health professions students confidently develop a basic understanding of embryology and its clinical relevance. Concise chapter summaries, captivating clinical correlates boxes, clinical problems, and a clear, concise writing style make the subject matter accessible and engaging to students throughout their courses. Updated content reflects the latest clinical findings on the effects of the Zika virus, urogenital system disorders, and more. Clinical Correlates boxes tie clinically relevant content to case-based scenarios students may encounter in practice. More than 400 full-color illustrations, micrographs, and clinical images clarify key aspects of embryonic development. Problems to Solve with accompanying answers help assess student understanding. Chapter summaries and an expanded glossary reinforce understanding of key development stages, terms, and clinical conditions. Illustrated Development Chart provides visually guides students through the stages of embryonic development at a glance. Updated online review questions with answers help students test their understanding and identify areas of weakness. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Publication Date: 2018-11-14
Learning Clinical Reasoning by Jerome P. Kassirer; Richard I. Kopelman; John B. WongLearning Clinical Reasoning uses a case-based approach to teach students the basics of clinical reasoning. The first section explains the chief components of the clinical reasoning process, such as generating and refining diagnostic hypotheses, using and interpreting diagnostic tests, assembling a working diagnosis, therapeutic decision-making, and examining and applying evidence, and also includes a discussion of cognitive errors. The second section contains 69 cases in which clinicians "think out loud" about diagnostic and therapeutic dilemmas, and the authors critique these clinicians' reasoning. This edition has thirty new cases from the New England Journal of Medicine and other sources and expanded discussions of evidence-based medicine, clinical practice guidelines, and cognitive errors.
Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine 8E by Gary D. Hammer; Stephen J. McPheePublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems More than 130 case studies with Q&A A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams. Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book. This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment. HERE ARE SOME OF THE MANY UPDATES AND ADDITIONS: * Twelve additional case studies, bringing the total to 132, one for each of the clinical entities discussed in the book's 24 chapters * More than 2/3 of the chapters are enhanced and refreshed by the input of new contributors * Totally revised chapter on neoplasia * New chapter sections on urticaria, spinocerebellar ataxia, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and spondyloarthropathies * New tables summarizing adverse prognostic signs in acute pancreatitis, genetic syndromes associated with pancreatic cancer, and causes of end-stage renal disease * New diagnosis and etiologic classification of diabetes mellitus, and review of mechanisms of newest pharmacologic agents for its treatment * Updates on fine-needle aspiration biopsy of thyroid nodules, and thyroid disorders in pregnancy * Updated references throughout the book
Publication Date: 2018-11-26
Photographic Manual of Regional Orthopaedic and Neurological Tests by Joseph J. CiprianoPrint book available in LRC. E-book available in R2 elibrary
"Now in its Fifth Edition, this Photographic Manual of Regional Orthopaedic and Neurologic Tests describes in step-by-step fashion how to perform these tests. Each chapter begins with a decision tree of the orthopaedic examination of an anatomic area, followed by a brief description of the anatomic area, usually with an accompanying drawing. The presentation of each test begins with a clinical description and a box of clinical signs and symptoms, followed by a brief description of the procedure with a photograph demonstrating the position of the clinician and the patient. The author then presents a brief rationale for the test and suggests diagnostic imaging procedures where appropriate. An accompanying DVD demonstrates a typical examination"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: WE 17 C577p 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-23
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Sixteenth Edition by Warren E. LevinsonPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology Covering everything you need to know for academic and career success, Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology delivers a high-yield review of the most important aspects of the topic in a concise yet comprehensive style. It explores both the basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology and discusses important infectious diseases using an organ system approach. With an effective mix of engaging text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes, this is the proven, one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. * Facilitates any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions * Complete USMLE-style practice exam * Pearls impart basic science necessary for passing the USMLE * 50 clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Chapter-ending self-assessment questions with answers * Color images depict clinically important findings, such as infectious disease lesions * Gram stains of bacteria, electron micrographs of viruses, and microscopic images depict fungi, protozoa, and worms * Chapters on infectious diseases from an organ system perspective
Publication Date: 2020-04-22
Rubin's Pathology by David S. Strayer (Editor); Jeffrey E. Saffitz (Editor); Emanuel Rubin (Consultant Editor)With a simple approach to essential information, Rubin's Pathology: Mechanisms of Human Disease establishes the foundation for medical training and practice and delivers the perfect balance of basic pathology and bedside perspective to confidently and efficiently equip students for clinical success. More accessible than ever, this eighth edition emphasizes the coverage students need most--disease mechanisms, integration of mechanisms into organ system pathology, and application of pathobiology to diagnostic medicine--in an approachable format with systems-based instruction techniques in mind. Comprehensively revised and updated content reflects the latest approaches to pathology from global leaders in the field and ensures a clinically relevant understanding of key pathology competencies. Comprehensively revised coverage simplifies the essentials of pathology and ensures a clinically relevant understanding of key competencies and techniques. Updated content reflects the international expertise of some of the most innovative authorities on pathology. New systems-based instruction approach ensures a practical understanding of essential techniques. Approachable format makes learning engaging and efficient. More than 1700 images--line drawings, micrographs, and gross pathology images--clarify concepts in stunning detail. Bolded key terms and bulleted lists reinforce important information at a glance. Online resources provide instant access to 29 virtual microscopy videos narrated by Dr. Emanuel Rubin, cases, and suggested readings. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
Publication Date: 2019-10-30
Skeletal Imaging by John A. M. Taylor; Donald L. Resnick; Tudor H. HughesUse this atlas to accurately interpret images of musculoskeletal disorders! Taylor, Hughes, and Resnick's Skeletal Imaging: Atlas of the Spine and Extremities, 2nd Edition covers each anatomic region separately, so common disorders are shown within the context of each region. This allows you to examine and compare images for a variety of different disorders. A separate chapter is devoted to each body region, with coverage of normal developmental anatomy, developmental anomalies and normal variations, and how to avoid a misdiagnosis by differentiating between disorders that appear to be similar. All of the most frequently encountered musculoskeletal conditions are included, from physical injuries to tumors to infectious diseases. Over 2,100 images include radiographs, radionuclide studies, CT scans, and MR images, illustrating pathologies and comparing them with other disorders in the same region. Organization by anatomic region addresses common afflictions for each region in separate chapters, so you can see how a particular region looks when affected by one condition as compared to its appearance with other conditions. Coverage of each body region includes normal developmental anatomy, fractures, deformities, dislocations, infections, hematologic disorders, and more. Normal Developmental Anatomy sections open each chapter, describing important developmental landmarks in various regions of the body from birth to skeletal maturity. Practical tables provide a quick reference to essential information, including normal developmental anatomic milestones, developmental anomalies, common presentations and symptoms of diseases, and much more. 400 new and replacement images are added to the book, showing a wider variety of pathologies. More MR imaging is added to each chapter. Up-to-date research includes the latest on scientific advances in imaging. References are completely updated with new information and evidence.
Publication Date: 2009-12-09
ACSM's Sports Medicine by Francis G. O'ConnorLocation: GC General Collection
This will be an ACSM review book for primary care physicians studying for certification and recertification. The audience includes Family Practice, Internal Medicine, Emergency Medicine, PM&R, and Pediatrics--all of which have boards in sports medicine. There is also a market among athletic trainers. The material is in bulleted format. We will also have a Web-based add-on of 1,000 questions.
Call Number: QT 18.2 O36 2013
Publication Date: 2012-09-20
Athletic Training and Sports Medicine by American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Staff; Chad StarkeyLocation: GC General Collection
Clinical Presentation boxes list the characteristics of each injury, including the history, mechanism of injury, the symptoms that one would observe with the injury, the functional status of the athlete, and various tests to diagnose the pathology.
Call Number: WB 535 S73 2013
Publication Date: 2012-02-15
National Board of Chiropractic Part IV: Volume I by Patrick LeonardiLocation: RES Reserve
This is Volume 1 of 2 for the Part IV Exam. Volume 2 covers Case Management and Technique Practical for the Part IV Exam. This is the most specific and thorough study guide for the National Board of Chiropractic Part IV Exam. This test preparation study guide consists of the following section: Normal Radiographic Anatomy, Congenital Anomalies & Skeletal Variants, Scoliosis, Intervertebral Disc Disease & Spinal Stenosis, Spondylosis and Spondylolisthesis, Skeletal Dysplasia, Traumatic Skeletal Disorders, Arthritic Disorders, Tumors and Tumor-like Processes, Bone Infection, Hematologic and Vascular Disorders, Metabolic, Endocrine and Nutritional Disorders. This book is a must for every chiropractic student or doctor of chiropractic taking the Part IV Exam.
Call Number: WB 18.2c L581b 2015
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
National Board of Chiropractic Part IV: Volume II by Patrick LeonardiLocation: RES Reserve
This is Volume 2 of 2 for the Part IV Exam. Volume 1 covers Diagnostic Imaging for the Part IV Exam. This is the most specific and thorough study guide for the National Board of Chiropractic Part IV Exam. This test preparation study guide consists of the following sections: Case Management & Technique Practical. This is a must for every chiropractic student or doctor of chiropractic taking the Part IV Exam.s
Call Number: W 18.2c L581a 2015
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Quick Questions in Heat-Related Illness and Hydration: Exports Advice in Sports Medicine by Rebecca M. LopezLocation: EBook Central
ClinicalTrials.gov has been developed by the U.S. National Institutes of Health through its National Library of Medicine, to provide current information about public and private clinical research studies.
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews..
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in healthcare. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. -Publisher
Demographic database designed to assist with evaluating practice sites and areas. Aids in the identification of high potential sites to set up your practice. Login is required. Request School Code/Access Code in LRC.
This authoritative database provides full text, cover-to-cover indexing for journals indexed in MEDLINE. These top journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Large database of scientific and medical research. LRC licenses multiple full-text journals through OVID. Under the "Journals" tab find full text for the journals Academic Medicine (1989 to 2011), Neurology (1951 to date), Spine (1976 to date), Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants (2005 to date) and Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research (2004 to date).
"PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites." -Website
The American Chiropractic Association (ACA), based in Arlington, VA., is the largest professional association in the United States representing doctors of chiropractic. ACA promotes the highest standards of ethics and patient care, contributing to the health and well-being of millions of chiropractic patients.
The National Board of Chiropractic Examiners, including its International Board of Chiropractic Examiners, is the international testing agency for the chiropractic profession. The NBCE develops, administers and scores standardized exams that assess knowledge, higher-level cognitive abilities and problem-solving in various basic science and clinical science subjects. - Website
The ACA Sports Council is a professional and educational nonprofit organization for active chiropractors who are committed to improving and promoting chiropractic treatment of athletes. We work closely with athletic organizations and allied health professionals to foster better understanding of the value of chiropractic care in sports medicine and treatment.