Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Academic Support

Wellness

One of the biggest adjustments for a college student is the balance. Balancing school, a job, family, friends, and extracurricular activities can feel overwhelming. Often in the midst of juggling life, we forget about ourselves. It is equally important to devote attention to your own self-care to be successful. The information on this page contains contacts, Apps, and a website that promote self-care. 

Mental Health Support and Counseling Resources

​Breathe2Relax 
Breathe2Relax is a portable stress management tool which provides detailed information on the effects of stress on the body and instructions and practices exercises to help users learn the stress management skill called diaphragmatic breathing. Breathing exercises have been documented to decrease the body’s ‘fight-or-flight’ (stress) response, and help with mood stabilization, anger control, and anxiety management. Breathe2Relax can be used as a stand-alone stress reduction tool or can be used in tandem with clinical care directed by a healthcare worker. Breathe2Relax now uses HealthKit and your Apple Watch device to measure your heart rate throughout your breathing exercise to help provide an even more complete picture of the relaxation experienced.
FREE 

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/breathe2relax/id425720246?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.t2health.breathe2relax&hl=en_US


CBT-i Coach 
US Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)
CBT-i Coach is for people who are engaged in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Insomnia with a health provider, or who have experienced symptoms of insomnia and would like to improve their sleep habits. The app will guide you through the process of learning about sleep, developing positive sleep routines, and improving your sleep environment. It provides a structured program that teaches strategies proven to improve sleep and help alleviate symptoms of insomnia.
FREE 

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cbt-i-coach/id655918660?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=gov.va.mobilehealth.ncptsd.cbti&hl=en


Mindshift 
Is anxiety getting in the way of your life? MindShift gives you scientifically proven solutions based on Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), mindfulness meditation, relaxation, mood, and anxiety tracking. MindShift helps you: learn to relax; develop more effective ways of thinking; and take active steps to take charge of your anxiety. 
FREE


IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/mindshift/id634684825?mt=8
Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bstro.MindShift&hl=en_US


PTSD Coach
US Department of Veterans Affairs 
PTSD Coach was designed for those who have or may have, posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). This app provides you with education about PTSD, information about professional care, a self-assessment for PTSD, opportunities to find support, and tools that can help you manage the stresses of daily life with PTSD. Tools range from relaxation skills and positive self-talk to anger management and other common self-help strategies. You can customize tools based on your preferences and can integrate your own contacts, photos, and music. This app can be used by people who are in treatment as well as those who are not. 
FREE

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ptsd-coach/id430646302?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=is.vertical.ptsdcoach&hl=e


SAM App
An application to help users understand and manage anxiety. Similar to Mindshift, has concrete tools and strategies to address anxiety in real time.
FREE


IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/app/sam/id666767947

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.uwe.myoxygen


Virtual Hope Box 
The target audience is adults, mood, and PTSD. Winner of the 2014 Department of Defense Innovation Award, this app contains simple tools to help with coping, relaxation, distraction, and positive thinking. Consolidates positive quotes, personal photos/ sounds that have a personal significance. Also has coping tools, a "distract me" section with puzzles, and Sudoku, and a "relax me" section with guided meditation, etc. It's not a pretty app, but it is actually pretty jam-packed with different ways to deal with stress/ anxiety at the moment. 
FREE

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/virtual-hope-box/id825099621?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.t2.vhb&hl=en_US

 

Simply Yoga-Fitness Trainer
Simply Yoga FREE is your own personal yoga instructor. The app contains a 20, 40 and 60-minute yoga routine that steps you through each pose. Each pose is demonstrated by a certified personal trainer, so simply choose your workout length and follow along in the comfort of your own home!
FREE 


IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/simply-yoga-fitness-trainer/id413817051?mt=8
Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tinymission.dailyyogafree&hl=en_US

Calm 
Meditation, sleep stories, calming exercise, calm music. Designed to help you find peace of mind. Learn the life-changing skill of meditation. Get more restful sleep and wake up feeling refreshed. Exclusive music to help you focus, relax, and sleep. Video lessons on mindful movement and gentle stretching. Audio programs taught by world-renowned mindfulness experts.  
$$

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/calm.com/id571800810

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.calm.android


Headspace: Meditation           
Headspace is a simple way to reframe stress. Relax with guided meditations and mindfulness techniques that bring calm, wellness and balance to your life in just a few minutes a day. Plus, we have meditations on sleep to help you create the ideal conditions for a good night’s rest. 
$$

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/headspace-meditation/id493145008?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.getsomeheadspace.android


Meditation Studio 
A collection of over 160 guided meditations for multiple areas of life: Stress, sleep, deep sleep, anxiety, mindful eating, pain, happiness, motivation, work, performance, confidence, life transitions, gratitude, compassion, relationships, leadership, day to night, quick breaks, Zen, mantra, special occasions, kids, goodnight kiddos, teens, college, quarter life, entrepreneurs, travel, earth day, veterans, and first responders.  
$$

Only available on IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/app/apple-store/id1066018502?mt=8


Pacifica 
Provides holistic tools to address stress, depression, and anxiety using Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, mindfulness, and relaxation. Includes mood and health tracking along with a community with which to engage. 
FREE & $$ 


Simply Being Guided Meditation 
Meditate easily with this elegantly simple App, the only meditation app you may ever need. Enjoy the deep relaxation, stress relief and benefits of meditation without prior experience. You can choose from 5 meditation times and you have the option to listen to the guided meditation alone or with music or nature sounds. You can also listen to music or nature sounds alone. In addition, you can choose how long to listen to music or nature sounds after the voice guidance finishes.
$$

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/simply-being-guided-meditation-for-relaxation-presence/id347418999?mt=8
Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.meditationoasis.Relax1&hl=en_US


STOP, BREATHE & THINK 
STOP: Stop what you are doing. Check in with what you are thinking and how you are feeling. 
BREATHE: Practice mindful breathing to create space between your thoughts, emotions, and reactions. 
THINK: Broaden your perspective, and strengthen your force field of peace with personalized meditations and activities 
$$

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/US/app/id778848692?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.stopbreathethink.app&referrer=af_tranid%3DWzSBX2YwRaD0vwGM4PI8sQ%26pid%3DWebsite%26c%3DHome_Top_Button

Circle of 6
Circle of 6 is for everyone.
It’s fast, easy-to-use and private. Originally designed for college students to prevent sexual violence, we also know it’s handy for teenagers, parents, friends, or all communities seeking to foster healthy relationships and safety. Need help getting home? Need an interruption? Two taps let your circle know where you are and how they can help. Circle of 6 apps for iPhone and Android makes it quick and easy to reach the 6 people you choose. It’s the mobile way to look out for each other on campus or when you’re out for the night. A simple tool to prevent violence before it happens. 
FREE

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/circle-of-6/id507735256?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.circleof6.open


MoodTools 
If you are feeling sad, anxious, or depressed, lift your mood with MoodTools! MoodTools is designed to help you combat depression and alleviate your negative moods, aiding you on your road to recovery. MoodTools contains several different research-supported tools. They include:
Thought Diary - Improve your mood by analyzing your thoughts and identifying negative/distorted thinking patterns based on principles from Cognitive Therapy
Activities - Regain your energy by performing energizing activities and tracking your mood before and after, based on Behavioral Activation Therapy
Safety Plan - Develop a suicide safety plan to keep you safe and utilize emergency resources during a suicidal crisis
Information - Read information, self-help guidelines, and find help with internet resources
Test - Take the PHQ-9 depression questionnaire and track your symptom severity over time
Video - Discover helpful YouTube videos that can improve your mood and behavior, from guided meditations to enlightening TED talks.
FREE

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/app/id1012822112?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.moodtools.moodtools


myPlan
Determine if a relationship is unsafe and helps create the best action plan by weighing an individual's unique characteristics and values. 
FREE

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/myplan-app/id1118574040?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mongooseprojects.myplan&hl=en


My3 Suicide Prevention 
Mental Health Association of New York City Inc. 
Stay connected to your network when you are in a time of crisis with MY3. With MY3, you define your network, and your plan to stay safe. With MY3 you can be prepared to help yourself and reach out to others when you are feeling suicidal. Remember, there is hope and a life to look forward to even in your darkest moments – this app can help you get through the difficult moments. 
FREE


IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/my3-support-network/id709651264?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nerdery.my3


Relax Melodies
Take back control of your sleep with Relax Melodies and join our community of millions that sleep better every day. Start sleeping now and enjoy full nights of sleep like you haven’t in a long time. Select sounds and melodies that you like, combine them and adjust the volume of each sound to create a mix. Add one of our meditations specially designed for sleep, lay back, listen, and enjoy falling asleep. It’s that simple and it works. Create different and new mixes every time!
 Free & $$

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/ca/app/relax-melodies-sleep-sounds-white-noise-fan/id314498713?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=ipnossoft.rma.free&hl=en


ReliefLink 
ReliefLink is an innovative free app developed specifically for suicide prevention and more generally for improving your mental health that brings confidential and supportive help right to the palm of your hand! ReliefLink enables you to create a personalized profile that includes pertinent information such as your mental health professional’s contact info, insurance coverage, and current medications. Track your mood and thoughts daily, create a safety plan, make a list of reminders (e.g. appointments, take medication, etc.) and check out the unique coping methods such as voice-recorded mindfulness and relaxation exercises or simply enjoy relaxing music!
FREE

Apple Only 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/relieflink/id721474553?mt=8

Related image

CBT-i Coach 
US Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)
CBT-i Coach is for people who are engaged in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Insomnia with a health provider, or who have experienced symptoms of insomnia and would like to improve their sleep habits. The app will guide you through the process of learning about sleep, developing positive sleep routines, and improving your sleep environment. It provides a structured program that teaches strategies proven to improve sleep and help alleviate symptoms of insomnia.
FREE

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cbt-i-coach/id655918660?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=gov.va.mobilehealth.ncptsd.cbti&hl=en


Pacifica 
Provides holistic tools to address stress, depression, and anxiety using Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, mindfulness, and relaxation. Includes mood and health tracking along with a community with which to engage. 
FREE & $$

IOS
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pacifica-tools-for-stress/id922968861?mt=8&ign-mpt=uo%3D6

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.pacificalabs.pacifica


PTSD Coach
US Department of Veterans Affairs 
PTSD Coach was designed for those who have or may have, posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). This app provides you with education about PTSD, information about professional care, a self-assessment for PTSD, opportunities to find support, and tools that can help you manage the stresses of daily life with PTSD. Tools range from relaxation skills and positive self-talk to anger management and other common self-help strategies. You can customize tools based on your preferences and can integrate your own contacts, photos, and music. This app can be used by people who are in treatment as well as those who are not. 
FREE

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ptsd-coach/id430646302?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=is.vertical.ptsdcoach&hl=e


SAM App
An application to help users understand and manage anxiety. Similar to Mindshift, has concrete tools and strategies to address anxiety in real time.
FREE


IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/app/sam/id666767947

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.uwe.myoxygen

 

Virtual Hope Box 
The target audience is adults, mood, and PTSD. Winner of the 2014 Department of Defense Innovation Award, this app contains simple tools to help with coping, relaxation, distraction, and positive thinking. Consolidates positive quotes, personal photos/ sounds that have a personal significance. Also has coping tools, a "distract me" section with puzzles, and Sudoku, and a "relax me" section with guided meditation, etc. It's not a pretty app, but it is actually pretty jam-packed with different ways to deal with stress/ anxiety at the moment. 
FREE

IOS 
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/virtual-hope-box/id825099621?mt=8

Android 
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.t2.vhb&hl=en_US